[Masthead] Fair and Breezy ~ 80°F  
High: 85°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Banquet honors Cherokee wrestlers

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

The Cherokee Braves 2009-10 wrestling team varsity lettermen were acknowledged at the recent post-season banquet. The lettermen and their number of varsity letters received include, left to right, Trevor Devitt (1), Manny Bustos (1), Jack Letsche (2), Rick Weaver (2), Patrick Loughlin (4), Gabe Conley (2), Zac Anderson (2), Alex Peck (2), Miah Back (2). Absent Tyler McLaughlin (1), Dave Lobato (1). Photo contributed
State qualifier Patrick Loughlin, a senior competing at 171 pounds, was named his team's Most Valuable Wrestler at the recent Cherokee Braves post-season banquet at the Little Panda.

Sophomore Jack Letsche was named Most Improved Wrestler. Letsche also set a single season school record this season with 57 escapes.

Other statistical awards dispersed by coaches Jason Wood and Ted Reis were Most Wins, Loughlin 27; Most Matches, Letsche and Zach Anderson 40; Most Falls, Anderson 15; Most Technical Falls, Anderson 2; Most Major Decisions, Loughlin and Letsche 3; Most Decisions, Letsche 8; Most Dual Team points, Loughlin 49; Most Takedowns, Loughlin and Anderson 30; Most Reversals, Anderson 30; Most Near Falls (2-point and 3-point), Anderson 13 each; Most Near Fall 4-point, Rick Weaver 1; Most Points, Anderson 206; Total Points, Loughlin 63 (points scored minus opponent's points scored).

Other awards issued were Wrestling Mom of Year to Dianne Anderson, Wrestling Dad of Year to Tom Letsche, and Wrestling Fan of Year to Andy Fuhrman.

A special award for Years of Service was presented to former Braves varsity wrestling coach, and Middle School wrestling coach Kurt Reynolds, who is retiring after this year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: