[Masthead] Fair ~ 85°F  
High: 86°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Iowa State Advisory Committee rechartered

Monday, March 29, 2010

WASHINGTON, DC -- The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has announced the appointment of twelve Iowa citizens to its Iowa Advisory Committee: Sheryl A. Leonard of Holstein, Nancy Boettger of Harlan, Francesca Galarraga of Ames, Isaiah C. McGee of Waukee, Cynthia A. Miller of Des Moines, Michael A. Sadler of Urbandale, Beverly A. Kopper of Cedar Falls, Tamara R. Scott of Norwalk, and Joe D. Coulter, George R. Neumann, Donald P. Racheter and Leonard A. Sandler of Iowa City, to the Iowa State Advisory Committee. The Commission appointed George Neumann as Chair. The appointments are for two years.

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan federal agency that conducts research and advises the President and Congress on civil rights issues. Its members, appointed by the President and Congress, are Chairman Gerald A. Reynolds, Vice Chair Abigail Thernstrom, and Commissioners Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter N. Kirsanow, Arlan D. Melendez, Ashley Taylor, Jr., and Michael Yaki. Martin Dannenfelser is the staff director.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish advisory committees in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, and their members serve without compensation. The SACs' reports to the Commission are wholly independent, and are reviewed by Commission staff only for legal and procedural compliance with Commission policies and procedures. SAC reports are not subject to Commission approval, fact-checking or policy changes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: