[Masthead] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Braves 3rd in Tomahawk Relays

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Dagel a double winner; South O'Brien second

The Cherokee Braves racked up four first-place finishes, including double winner Brock Dagel in the throws, to claim third place in the Class 1A competition of the 2010 Tomahawk Relays in Cherokee Saturday.

South O'Brien used team depth and five runner-up finishes to place second in the team race, with Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn tying for sixth place with three firsts, and Aurelia finishing ninth in the 9-team field.

Cherokee's Brock Dagel was a double winner at the Tomahawk Relays. Photo by Paul Struck
Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove won the 1A title with 105 points, followed by SOS 100, Cherokee 86, Sioux Central 79, Alta 58, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 56, MMC 56, Storm Lake JV 8, and Aurelia 5.

Cherokee's Dagel won the shot put with a 44-02 1/3 effort, and also won the discus with a throw of 127-7. Nolan Sampson won the high jump with a career-best 6-3 leap, and freshman Marc Husman won the 400 meters in 53.68.

The Braves medley relay of Sam Hinkhouse, Sampson, Kyle Comstock, and Husman was second in a time of 3:51.16.

Third-place finishes for Cherokee were Cody Stowater's 42-11 1/2 shot put, Jakob Hummel's 2:15.38 clocking in the 800 meters, Kyle Schuck's 15.75 time in the 110 hurdles, and the 4x100 relay of Hinkhouse, Schuck, Comstock, and Sampson timed in 47.57.

Cherokee's Eamon Adamson was fourth in the 1600 meters in 5:09.61, and the 4x400 relay of Hinkhouse, Hummel, Schuck, and Husman was fourth in 3:50.28.

Hinkhouse was fifth in the 100 meters in 11.99, and sixth-place finishes went to Jon Hunt's 111-02 discus throw, Adamson's 2:20.67 time in the 800 meters, Tyler McGlaughlin's 5:18.41 time in the 1600 meters, and Sampson's 16.64 time in the 110 hurdles.

In the entertaining weightman's 4x100 relay where no team points are awarded, the Braves also took first, with Dagel, Stowater, Hunt, and Stetson Dagel aboard in 53.30.

South O'Brien seconds went to Cole Pleggenkule's 10:15.15 clocking in the 3200 meters, the 4x800 relay timed in 9:00.11, Mike Faust's 11.88 time in the 100 meters, Dillan Zimmer's 53.88 time in the 400 meters, and the 4x400 relay clocked in 3:38.66.

SOS thirds went to Evan Magnussen's 123-04 discus throw, Daniel Patterson's 11:09.45 time in the 3200 meters, the shuttle hurdle relay in 1:10.53, Matt DeVos's 56.44 time in the 400 meters, Pleggenkuhle's 4:41.85 time in the 1600 meters, and Jarod Syndergaard's 24.05 in the 200 meters.

Wolverine fourths went to Syndergaard's 19-04 1/4 long jump, Adam Paulsen's 5-6 high jump, Cole Ebel's 11.96 time in the 200 meters, the distance medley relay in 4:09.26, and RJ Nieman's 2:16.25 time in the 800 meters.

No relays participants names were submitted for SOS.

MMC notched three firsts, including Will Hanson's 14.96 clocking in the 110 hurdles, the distance medley in 3:48.23, and the 4x400 relay in 3:37.54.The Eagles were third in the 4x800 relay in 9:30.75, second in the 4x200 relay in 1:39.44, and fifth in the 4x100 relay in 49.97.

No information, including relays participants, was submitted for the MMC boys.

For Aurelia, Austin Glawe was fourth in the 400 meters in 56.75, and sixth in the 200 meters in a time of 25.26.

In Class 2A, Sioux City West won the team title with 84 points, followed by MOC-Floyd Valley 82, Storm Lake 81, Sioux City Heelan 80, Spirit Lake Park 76, Le Mars 66, Spencer 57, Sioux City North 31.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: