[Masthead] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Governor to honor Iowa senior scholars

Monday, April 19, 2010

Six area students will be recognized

DES MOINES - More than 425 high school seniors from across Iowa will be honored Sunday, April 25 at the Eighth Annual Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony, to be held at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines starting at 1:00 p.m.

The recognition program is presented by the Governor's Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.

The Honorable Governor Chet Culver will host the event and address the audience of 2,500-plus. Iowa's 2010 Teacher of the Year, Sarah Wessling, a teacher at Johnston High School, will be the keynote speaker. Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Lang and Richard Wulkow, Executive Director of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, will also offer comments.

The honored seniors were selected by their high schools as their highest academic achievers. Each student will receive a photo plaque and a certificate to commemorate their achievement. The selected teachers will also receive a certificate. A reception for the students, their parents, their most influential teachers and other guests will follow the ceremony.

In addition to being recognized as the state's brightest students, over 99 percent of the group participates in school activities, with over 85 percent participating in at least one athletic competition. To date, 61 percent plan to continue their education in Iowa.

The following seniors from the Chronicle-Times coverage area were selected to receive this special honor, including Amanda Kohn of Cherokee Washington High, Erin Laursen of Aurelia, Shelby Bennett of Galva-Holstein, Rachel McDermott of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn, Samuel Lundt of River Valley, and Ryan Brasser of South O'Brien.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: