[Masthead] Rain ~ 43°F  
High: 47°F ~ Low: 40°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

First Cooperative Association awards $7,500 in scholarships

Friday, May 28, 2010

First Cooperative Association, headquartered in Cherokee, with 16 locations in Northwest Iowa has awarded fifteen (15) $500 scholarships to chosen graduates in their trade area. Since 1997 in excess of $100,000 has been given to local graduates to further their education in a variety of fields.

This years recipients are:

Holly Hinkeldey, Alta Schools

Shelby Meyer, Alta Schools

Stacie Glienke, Aurelia Schools

Amanda Swanson, Aurelia Schools

John Bieber, Cherokee Schools

Chad Borchers, Galva-Holstein Schools

Lauren Meyer, Galva-Holstein Schools

Christopher Abbas, Laurens-Marathon Schools

Kimberly Kenobbie, Laurens-Marathon Schools

Emily Bush, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn Schools

Garret Ehlers, OABCIG Schools

Daren Miller, Schaller-Crestland Schools

Matthew Anderson, Sioux Central Schools

David Movall, Sioux Central Schools

Andrew Koehlmoos, South O'Brien Schools

Many of these young people are entering agricultural related and rural study fields and intend to work in rural areas. This is part of a culture that is encouraged by First Cooperative with the hope of continuing and strengthening the rural economy in Iowa.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: