[Masthead] Fair ~ 45°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Dreckman leads Sioux Valley qualifiers Cherokee Match-Play Golf Classic Saturday & Sunday

Friday, June 18, 2010

By Paul Struck

Final qualifying for the 76th annual Sioux Valley Amateur Men's Match-Play Golf Tournament Saturday and Sunday winds up today at the Cherokee Golf & Country Club and Le Mars golfer Nick Dreckman's 70 continues to lead a host of talented qualifiers in the medalist race through Thursday afternoon.

Qualifying runs through today, with the last qualifying tee times at 1 p.m. for 18 holes, and 3 p.m. for nine holes.

Dreckman leads 20 golfers carding qualifying rounds in the 70s to date, including former Sioux Valley Champion and two-time runner-up Brian Schultz of Le Mars 72, James De Vos of Cherokee 73, David Cook of Cherokee 73, Jason Ruba of Remsen 74, Dave Laing of Chariton 74, Bill Mathers of Cushing 74, two-time Sioux Valley Champion Todd Sapp of Sioux City 75, Jeff Mason of Holstein 75, Scott Finneman of Urbandale 76, Denny Nelson of Cherokee 76, Chris Laing of Chariton 76, Kyle Mallory of Lakeland, Fla. 77, Bian Lockin of Aurelia 77, former Champion Jeff Campbell of Niles, Ohio 78, Chris Jenness of Cherokee 78, Tim Gum of Sioux Rapids 78, Rich Cook of Cherokee 79, and Joel Keady of Orange City 79.

Iowa's oldest Match-Play Golf Tournament, the Sioux Valley Am has long been a favorite for amateur golfers throughout the Midwest. The $75 entry fee includes 18-hole practice rounds and 18 holes of qualifying.

All entrants failing to make the cut for the Sioux Valley Am automatically qualify for the Consolation Match-Play Tournament scheduled the following Saturday (June 26).

The medalist Award for Qualifiers is $300. The Championship Flight winner gains a leg on the Frank Greenwood Memorial Trophy, which takes three legs to retire.

J.D. Anderson of Des Moines is the defending 2009 Champion, also winning the Sioux Valley Am in 2007. Former Cherokean Jeff Campbell of Niles, Ohio is the 2008 Champion, and Todd Sapp of Sioux City won it in 2005 and 2006.

Anderson won't be back this year to defend due to schedule commitments, so the Championship field is wide open this year. Campbell and Sapp are back this year to try to capture another coveted Sioux Valley Amateur title.

The popular Calcutta Auction and Meal is tonight, with entertainment for that event Tony Bohnenkamp, an Aurelia native and professional musician now living in Des Moines.

For more information, contact the Country Club at 225-4687, Jason Spooner at 261-5878, Bill Spindler at 221-9328, or Chris Jenness at 229-5232.

Qualifying Sioux Valley Am golfers can call for Tourney Flight times after 6:30 p.m. today.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: