[Masthead] Fair and Breezy ~ 83°F  
High: 86°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Cody Ege named captain of Class 2-A INA All-State team

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Cody Ege
DES MOINES - Cherokee Washington High School senior Cody Ege has been selected as the honorary captain of the Class 2-A All-State baseball team selected by the Iowa Newspaper Association (INA). The INA's statewide panel of sportswriters selected the teams at their meetings in Des Moines on July 25. They selected honorary captains in each of Iowa's four classes: Jon Keller of Cedar Rapids Xavier in 4-A, Marcus Heemstra of Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley in 3-A, Cody Ege of Cherokee in 2-A and Ryan Powers of Calamus-Wheatland in 1-A.

Cherokee's Ege will continue his career at the University of Louisville. He finished 6-2 with an ERA under one this season, and also batted .461 with nine homers and 34 RBIs. Ege helped the Braves to the state tournament, where they lost to Carroll Kuemper, 3-0, in a 2-A quarterfinal.

Class 2-A

First team

P: Cody Ege, Sr., Cherokee; Calvin Mathews, So., Davis County; Brandon Shulista, Jr., Solon. C: Trenton Northrup, Sr., Pekin. 1B: A.J. Reuter, Jr., Monticello. IF: Taylor Zeutenhorst, Sr., Sheldon; Nick Day, Jr., Solon; Marshall Koehn, Jr., Solon. OF: Tanner Hageman, Sr., South Winneshiek; Derrick Loveless, Jr., Solon; Travis Jameson, Sr., Nodaway Valley. UT: Joe Goodman, Jr., Gilbert; Kyle Holmes, Sr., Wilton.

Second team

P: Eric DeSousa, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Alec Crawford, Sr., Wilton; Jordan Hohense, Sr., BGM. C: Nick Maas, Sr., Waterloo Columbus. 1B: Taylor Johnson, Sr., East Marshall. IF: Josh Martsching, So., Davis County; Mitch Peschon, Jr., Spirit Lake; Spencer Behne, Sr., Central Springs. OF: Ryan Friedrich, Jr., Alta; Jake Greco, So., North Fayette; Jaye Nauman, Sr., North Linn. UT: Ray Zalabowski, Sr., Okoboji; Cale Henke, So., Hudson.

Third team

P: Blake Brommel, Sr., I-35; Chris Throne, Sr., Lake Mills; Logan Felton, Sr., Monticello. C: Cole Kleinwolterink, Sr., Sheldon. 1B: Tyler Smith, Jr., Solon. IF: Zach Mosbey, Sr., Pekin; Noah Pickard, So., North Polk; Anthony Flattery, Jr., Fort Dodge St. Edmond. OF: Eric Joblinske, Jr., Dike-New Hartford; Spencer Lueders, Sr., Northeast; Zack Fligg, Jr., Davis County. UT: Isaac Willenbring, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Zac Soukup, Sr., South Winneshiek.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: