[Masthead] Fair ~ 55°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Jerry and Lynn Ebert to be inducted into Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

Monday, August 16, 2010

Lynn and Jerry Ebert
Jerry and Lynn Ebert of Cherokee County will be inducted into the 2010 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame during a ceremony at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair on Sunday, Aug. 22.

Eighty-nine Iowa counties are participating this year and have selected inductees for their outstanding service and dedication to 4-H. Inductees or their surviving family members will be presented a certificate by the Iowa 4-H Foundation as they are introduced on stage. Jerry and Lynn will be recognized at 1:30p.m. A reception will follow the presentations.

Jerry and Lynn Ebert of Washta,in Cherokee County, are huge advocates for youth in agriculture and strong supporters of the Cherokee County 4-H program. They have served 4-H in all capacities from being a youth involved in 4-H to being leaders of a community club. Jerry was instrumental in reviving the advanced cattle feeding program for the county. Jerry and Lynn are always willing helpers supporting and guiding the young people of Cherokee County.

Counties select inductees for their exceptional work in contributing to the lives of 4-H members and the overall 4-H program. Many inductees served as club leaders, youth mentors, fair superintendents or fair board members, Iowa State University Extension county council members, county youth council members, fair judges, financial supporters, chaperones or ISU Extension staff members. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa's 4-H'ers through the years.

"This is a wonderful opportunity for the counties and state to recognize and celebrate 4-H volunteers and staff who have shown outstanding service and dedication to Iowa's 4-H program," said Chuck Morris, director of ISU Extension 4-H Youth Development.

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was initiated in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H. A summary of all previous honorees will be on display at the 2010 Iowa State Fair in the 4-H Exhibits Building.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: