[Masthead] Fair and Breezy ~ 80°F  
High: 85°F ~ Low: 47°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

FEMA Individual Assistance added to Iowa Disaster Declaration

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Cherokee County residents encouraged to sign up

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended the July 29 major disaster declaration to include Individual Assistance for Iowa counties struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning on June 1.

Individual Assistance may now be available to eligible residents and business owners in 29 Iowa counties: Cherokee, Black Hawk, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Marion, O'Brien, Osceola, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Warren, Webster, and Wright counties.

Cherokee County Emergency Management Director Ben Shuberg encourages all residents and business owners who were affected by the recent flooding and storms that hit Cherokee County this summer to sign up for the FEMA Individual Assistance.

The State of Iowa requested a disaster declaration for the aforementioned counties prior to this past week's flooding. FEMA is rapidly working with state and local officials to assess current damage and more information will be released if additional counties are designated.

Assistance may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties may immediately begin registering for assistance online at

HYPERLINK "http://www.disasterassistance.gov/" \o "blocked::http://www.disasterassistance.gov/"


or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Those registering for aid should be prepared to provide basic information about themselves, details on insurance coverage, and any other information to help substantiate losses.

Federal funding also is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in numerous counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: