[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 61°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Overview of candidates in November's General Election

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Incumbents up for re-election in Cherokee County face an easy ballot on Nov. 2.

Of the five county positions on this year's ballot, only one incumbent has a challenger for the seat. Cherokee County Supervisor Jeff Simonsen (Republican) will face Chad Dutler (Democrat), who threw his political hat in the ring earlier this year.

Cherokee County Supervisor Mark Leeds (Republican) is also on the ballot this election cycle, and is running unopposed. Rounding out the other incumbents, who are all unopposed on this year's ballot are: Cherokee County Treasurer Roswitha "Hedgie" Brandt (Republican), Cherokee County Recorder Dawn Jones Coombs (Democrat) and Cherokee County Attorney Ryan Kolpin (Republican).

For the non-partisan offices, Nathan Anderson and Russell Winterhof are on the ballot for Commissioners for the Cherokee County Soil & Water Conservation District. There are two spots open and voters shall vote for no more then two candidates, Anderson and Winterhof are unopposed for these seats.

For Cherokee County Agricultural Extension council (voters shall vote for no more then five candidates) are: Christopher Johnson, Nathan Foresman, Eric Ogren, Bryan Dirks, Donna Amundson, Gina Rassel, Tom Kellen and Guy Fishman.

Candidates on the State Level face much tighter races. Former Iowa Governor Terry Branstad and running mate Kim Reynolds (Republican), Jonathan Narcisse and running mate Richard Marlar (Iowa Party), Eric Cooper and running mate Nick Weltha (Libertarian), David Rosenfeld and running mate Helen Meyers (Socialist Workers Party), and Gregory James Hughes and running mate Robin Prior-Calef all are vying for Iowa's top job against incumbent Iowa Governor Chet Culver and Lieutenant Governor Patty Judge (Democrat).

Matt Schultz (Republican) and Jake Porter (Libertarian) will be facing incumbent Michael Mauro (Democrat) for the Iowa Secretary of State office. Incumbent David Vaudt (Republican) will be facing Jon Murphy (Democrat) for Iowa Auditor Office. David Jamison (Republican) will running against incumbent Michael Fitzgerald (Democrat) for the Iowa Treasurer Office. For Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, incumbent Bill Northey (Republican) will be facing Francis Thicke (Democrat).

In the Iowa Attorney General race, Republican challenger Brenna Findley will face incumbent Tom Miller (Democrat).

For Iowa State Senator, District 27, Bill Anderson (Republican) will face Marty Pottebaum (Democrat) for the open senate seat. For Iowa House of Representative, District, 53, Daniel Huseman (Republican) is unopposed.

On the federal level, Matthew Campbell (Democrat) and Martin James Monroe (nominated by petition) are vying for the United States House of Representative, District 5 seat, and will face incumbent Steve King (Republican).

On the judicial ballot, voters are asked shall the following Iowa Judges be retained in office? Judges on the Iowa Supreme Court are Marsha Ternus, David Baker and Michael Streit. On the Iowa Court of Appeals are Ed Mansfield, Amanda Potterfield, Gayle Vogel, David Danilson and Rick Doyle. On the Iowa Associate Court, District 3A are David Larson and Charles Borth, and on the Iowa Associate Juvenile Court, District 3A is Mary Timko.

The General Election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 2.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: