[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 46°F ~ Low: 44°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

Simonsen keeps supervisor seat

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

County favors Republicans in General Election

With over 4,782 votes cast Tuesday out of 8,939 registered voters in Cherokee County (a 53.5 percent turnout), Jeff Simonsen, Republican, had a commanding lead over his Democratic opponent, Chad Dutler, in the race for Cherokee County Board of Supervisor, District 3.

The votes are unofficial until canvassed by the Cherokee County Supervisors on Tuesday, Nov. 9.

Simonsen, the incumbent for district 3 and the Chairman of the Supervisors, received 3,093 votes (67.21 percent) compared to 1507 (32.75 percent) for Chad Dutler.

In District 4, the current supervisor, Mark Leeds, Republican received 3,679 votes (99.19 percent). Leeds was unopposed on the ballot. Incumbent treasurer Roswitha Brand, Republican, and Dawn Jones Coombs, Democrat, the incumbent recorder, were both reelected with over 99 percent of the votes cast for those offices.

Incumbent Cherokee County Attorney Ryan Kolpin, who was also unopposed, received 98.97 percent of the vote.

In the Gubernatorial race, the incumbent Democratic team of Chet Culver and Patty Judge came up short in Cherokee County with 1,574 votes (33.19 percent), while the Republican team of former Governor Terry Branstad and Kim Reynolds received 3,001 votes (63.29 percent) in Cherokee County.

Voters in Cherokee County overwhelmingly supported the incumbent Steve King, Republican, for U.S. Congressman from the fifth congressional district, with 3,041 (64.72 percent) for King, 1,580 votes (33.62 percent) for the Democrat, Matthew Campbell, 78 votes (1.66 percent) for Martin James Monroe who ran as an independent.

Cherokee County voters supported the Republican in the state Secretary of State race where Matt Schultz received 2,735 votes (60.47 percent) compared to 1,629 (36.02 percent) for incumbent Secretary of State Michael Mauro. Libertarian candidate Jake Porter received 156 votes (3.45 percent).

County voters also supported the Republican Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey, who received 3,385 votes (74.13 percent) compared to 1,180 votes (25.84 percent) for Democrat Francis Thicke.

In a non-partisan race for Soil and Water Conservation Director, there were two candidates for two seats. Russell Winterhof received 2,962 votes, and Nathan Anderson received 2,737 votes.

Cherokee also voted overwhelmingly "No" on the retention of Iowa Supreme Court Judges Ternus, Baker and Streit (69 percent for all three judges). As for the remaining Judges on the ballot in Cherokee County, a "Yes" vote was the majority for Appeals Court Judges Mansfield, Potterfield, Vogel, Danilson and Doyle. District 3A Associate Judges Larson, Borth and Timko also received "Yes" votes from Cherokee County voters.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: