[Masthead] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Anderson wins State Senate seat

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Voter registration - Voter polling volunteers reported busy times at all precincts for Tuesday's General Election, with more than 50-percent of Cherokee County voters exercising their voting privileges. Here voters register before voting at the Cherokee Community Center. Photo by Paul Struck
Township Trustees and Clerks elected

Bill Anderson, a Republican from Kingsley, will be representing District 27 in the Iowa Senate. Anderson defeated his Democratic opponent, Marty Pottebaum, receiving 3,141 votes (67.53 percent) to Pottebaum's 1,509 votes (32.44) in Cherokee County in Tuesday's General Election.

Of the 25 precincts in District 27 reporting, Anderson received a total of 12,835 votes (62.42 percent) and Pottebaum received a total of 7,714 votes (37.52 percent).

Anderson will serve the district covering all of Cherokee County, eastern Plymouth County and northern Woodbury County.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley, Republican, received 3,630 votes (76.91 percent) in Cherokee County over his Democratic challenger, Roxanne Conlin, who received 1,000 votes (21.19 percent), and John Heiderscheit, Libertarian, who received 88 votes (1.86 percent) in Cherokee County.

Iowa State Representative for District 053, Daniel Huseman, Republican, was unopposed on the ballot and received a total of 3,829 votes (99.30 percent) in Cherokee County.

Cherokee County voters also showed support for Republican David Jamison for Iowa State Treasurer with 2,511 votes (55.69 percent) over incumbent Michael Fitzgerald, Democrat, who received 1,995 votes (44.24 percent) in Cherokee County.

Fitzgerald won re- election , however, with a statewide total of 563,814 votes (52.84 percent). Jamison received 502,369 (47.09) votes statewide.

There was a good voter turnout in Cherokee County Tuesday, as evidenced by the parking lot at the Cherokee Community Center. Photo by Paul Struck.
In the race for Iowa State Auditor, Incumbent David A. Vaudt, Republican, came out on top in Cherokee County with 2,881 votes (64.73 percent) over Jon Murphy, Democrat, who received 1,566 votes (35.18 percent). Vaudt received a total of 594,928 votes (56.49 percent) statewide and Murphy received 457,334 (43.34 percent) statewide.

Voters in Amherst Township in Cherokee County voted for no more then two candidates for Trustees on Tuesday. Martin Irwin received 84 votes (55.26 percent) and David Whited received 68 votes (44.74 percent).

In Marcus Township voters were asked to vote for no more then two candidates for Trustees and Ray Means received 43 votes (51.81 percent) and Steve Hueser received 40 votes (48.19 percent). For Marcus Township Clerk, Patrick Bird received 100 percent of the 53 votes for Township Clerk.

Roy Townsend received 100 percent of the 79 votes cast for Grand Meadow Township Trustee.

In Rock Township, Cletus Henke received a total of 80 votes (96.39 percent) for the positiion of Trustee for Rock Township.

For the Trustee position in Tilden Township, Marvin Simmons received 72 votes (100 percent). For Tilden Township Clerk, Ed Schlenger received 73 votes (100 percent).

All results remain unofficial until canvassed at the Cherokee County Board of Supervisors meeting on Nov. 9.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: