[Masthead] Overcast ~ 46°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Braves All-District football honors

Thursday, November 11, 2010

Eight Cherokee Braves earned District 2 All-District football honors this season. They are, front row, left to right, Kristian Freed, First Team; Alanzo Ruble, Second Team. Back, Miah Back, Honorable Mention; Kyle Halder, Honorable Mention; Brock Dagel, First Team; Seth Mahnke, First Team; Jakob Hummel, First Team; Sam Hinkhouse, Second Team. Photo by Paul Struck
Dagel, Freed, Hummel, Mahnke make First Team

The Cherokee Braves landed four players on the First Team District 2 All-District Football team announced this week, two on Second Team, and two more on Honorable Mention.

Three Braves earned First Team honors on offense, including Brock Dagel, a 6-7, 250-pound senior lineman; Jakob Hummel, a 6-1, 165-pound senior utility player; and Seth Mahnke, a 6-5, 175-pound senior wide receiver. The Braves Kristian Freed, a 6-1, 200-pound senior linebacker, was named to First Team on defense.

Earning Second Team honors for Cherokee were Sam Hinkhouse, a 5-9, 160-pound senior utility player; and Alanzo Ruble, a 6-2, 205-pound senior linebacker.

Braves named to Honorable Mention All-District were Kyle Halder, a 6-0, 205-pound senior defensive lineman; and Miah Back, a 6-1, 300-pound junior offensive lineman.

These Cherokee Braves not only excelled on the football field this season, but in the classroom as well, earning District 2 All-Academic honors. They are, front row, left to right, Jack Letsche, Dillon Drefke, Gus Laursen. Back, Zac Anderson, Trevor Devitt, Brock Dagel, Jakob Hummel, Sam Hinkhouse. Photo by Paul Struck
District 2 MVP Offense was junior running back Michael Strautman of Carroll Kuemper, MVP Defense was senior defensive end Cole Blair of South Central Calhoun, Coach of the Year was Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn graduate Bryan Case of SCC, and Assistant Coach of the Year was Travis Hilgenberg of Carroll Kuemper.

Nine Cherokee Braves earned District 2 All-Academic status, the criteria being the player is either a junior or senior with a GPA of 3.25 or better.

Those Braves were Dagel, Hummel, Hinkhouse, Gus Laursen, Jack Letsche, Tyler McLaughlin, Trevor Devitt, Dillon Drefke, and Zac Anderson.

Four Cherokee football cheerleaders also earned All-Academic honors, including Maggie Lubeck, Jordan Miller, Amanda Kellen, and Nicole Springer.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: