[Masthead] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Board canvasses election results

Friday, November 12, 2010

Jill Titcomb, Cherokee County Auditor's Election Assistant, presented the 2010 General Election Results to the Cherokee County Board of Supervisors at the Cherokee County Courthouse to canvass on Tuesday, making the following results official.

Total votes for the Cherokee County were 4,782 out of 8,939 registered voters in Cherokee County (a 53.5 percent turnout)

In county races, Jeff Simonsen, Republican, had a commanding lead over his Democrat opponent, Chad Dutler, in the race for Cherokee County Board of Supervisor, District 3. Simonsen, the incumbent for District 3 and the current chairman of the supervisors, received 3,093 votes (67.21 percent) compared to 1,507 (32.75 percent) for Chad Dutler.

In District 4, the current supervisor, Republican Mark Leeds, received 3,679 votes (99.19 percent). Leeds was unopposed on the ballot.

Incumbent treasurer, Republican Roswitha Brandt, and Dawn Jones Coombs, the Democrat incumbent recorder, were both reelected with over 99 percent of the votes cast for those offices.

Incumbent Cherokee County Attorney Ryan Kolpin, a Republican who was also unopposed, received 98.97 percent.

Voters in Amherst Township in Cherokee County voted for no more then two candidates for Trustees on Tuesday. Martin Irwin received 84 votes (55.26 percent) and David Whited received 68 votes (44.74 percent).

In Marcus Township voters were asked to vote for no more then two candidates for Trustees and Ray Means received 43 votes (51.81 percent) and Steve Hueser received 40 votes (48.19 percent). For Marcus Township Clerk Patrick Bird received 100 percent of the 53 votes for Township Clerk.

Roy Townsend received 100 percent of the 79 votes cast for Grand Meadow Township Trustee.

In Rock Township, Cletus Henke received a total of 80 votes (96.39 percent) to be a Trustee for Rock Township.

For the Trustee position in Tilden Township, Marvin Simmons received 72 votes (100 percent). For Tilden Township Clerk, Ed Schlenger received 73 votes (100 percent) for Clerk.

In a non-partisan race for Soil and Water Conservation Director, there were two candidates for two seats. Russell Winterhof received 2,962 votes, and Nathan Anderson received 2,737 votes.

The Democrat team of Chet Culver and Patty Judge came up short in Cherokee County with 1,574 votes (33.19 percent). The Republican team of Terry Branstad and Kim Reynolds received 3,001 votes (63.29 percent) in Cherokee County.

Voters in Cherokee County overwhelmingly supported the Republican incumbent Steve King for U.S. Congressman from the Fifth Congressional District, with 3,041 (64.72 percent) for King, 1,580 votes (33.62 percent) for the Democrat, Matthew Campbell, and 78 votes (1.66 percent) for Martin James Monroe who ran as an Independent.

Cherokee County voters supported the Republican in the state Secretary of State race where Matt Schultz received 2,735votes (60.47 percent) compared to 1,629 (36.02 percent) for incumbent Secretary of State, Democrat Michael Mauro. Libertarian candidate Jake Porter received 156 votes (3.45 percent).

County voters also supported the Republican Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey, who received 3,385 votes (74.13 percent) compared to 1,180 votes (25.84 percent) for Democrat Francis Thicke.

Cherokee County also voted overwhelmingly "No" on the retention of Iowa Supreme Court Judges Ternus, Baker and Streit (69 percent for all three judges). As for the remaining Judges on the ballot in Cherokee County a "Yes" vote was the majority for Appeals Court Judges Mansfield, Potterfield, Vogel, Danilson and Doyle. District 3A Associate Judges Larson, Borth and Timko also received "Yes" votes from Cherokee County voters.

Bill Anderson, Republican from Kingsley, will be representing District 27 in the Iowa Senate. Anderson defeated his Democrat opponent, Marty Pottebaum while receiving 3,141 votes (67.53 percent) to Pottebaum's 1,509 votes (32.44) in Cherokee County on Tuesday.

Of the 25 precincts in District 27 reporting, Anderson received a total of 12,835 votes (62.42 percent) and Pottebaum received a total of 7,714 votes (37.52 percent).

Anderson will serve the district covering all of Cherokee County, eastern Plymouth County and northern Woodbury County.

U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley, Republican, received 3,630 votes (76.91 percent) in Cherokee County over his Democrat challenger Roxanne Conlin who received 1,000 votes (21.19 percent), and John Heiderscheit, Libertarian, who received 88 votes (1.86 percent) in Cherokee County.

Iowa State Representative for District 053, Daniel Huseman, Republican, was unopposed on the ballot and received a total of 3,829 votes (99.30 percent) in Cherokee County.

Cherokee County voters also showed support for Republican David Jamison for Iowa State Treasurer with 2,511 votes (55.69 percent) over incumbent Michael Fitzgerald, Democrat, who received 1,995 votes (44.24 percent) in Cherokee County.

Fitzgerald won the election with a statewide total of 563,814 votes (52.84 percent). Jamison received 502,369 (47.09) votes statewide.

In the race for Iowa State Auditor, Incumbent David A. Vaudt, Republican, came out on top in Cherokee County with 2,881 votes (64.73 percent) over Jon Murphy, Democrat, who received 1,566 votes (35.18 percent). The winner Vaudt received a total of 594,928 votes (56.49 percent) statewide and Murphy received 457,334 (43.34 percent) statewide.

In other Board business, Cherokee County Weed Commissioner Tom Jenness presented his annual report to the Board. Jenness reported he had some minor equipement failure on the spray truck during the end of the spraying season.

He needed to replace two tires and the rims. The Board and Jenness then began a discussion on the possibility of replacing the truck itself. Currently Jenness is using a truck built in the early 1980's and has been re-engineered several times. No action was taken.

The Board also appointed Supervisor Mark Leeds to the Bright Beginnings Day Care Board.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: