[Masthead] Fog ~ 33°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

'Iowans Helping Iowans' to benefit flood victims

Friday, December 10, 2010

5 NW Iowa counties eligible, including Cherokee

DES MOINES -- Iowans whose primary homes were damaged by the 2010 natural disasters may be eligible to receive financial assistance for repairs to their damaged home or down payment assistance towards a new home through the Iowans Helping Iowans Housing program.

The Iowa Finance Authority (IFA) administers the program. Eligible Northwest Iowa counties include Cherokee, Ida, O'Brien, Lyon, and Sioux, each declared presidential disaster areas following the devastating spring and summer flooding.

"Homeowners impacted by the floods of 2010 are encouraged to apply for assistance, said IFA Executive Director Joe O'Hern. "The financial assistance offered through the program for repairs or down payment assistance may provide flood-impacted homeowners with the essential support they need as they recover from the floods."

The Iowans Helping Iowans program is a $20 million initiative created by Governor Chet Culver in August 2010 to provide housing, small business and unmet needs assistance to those who suffered losses in the 2010 floods. To date, nearly 270 applications have been submitted and $324,000 has been awarded to assist flood-impacted homeowners, with up to $7.5 million available under the program.

Individuals whose homes were damaged by the 2010 natural disaster and are not proposed for buyouts may receive up to $25,000 for the cost of eligible repair expenses for a disaster-affected home.

Down payment assistance for the purchase of a replacement home outside the 100-year flood plain is also available for individuals whose homes were destroyed or damaged beyond repair. The assistance may not exceed the lesser of 25 percent of the purchase price of the home being purchased or $25,000.

Eligible homeowners may receive only one type of assistance under the program. Homeowners must live in a county declared a presidential disaster area for Individual Assistance and must have registered with FEMA and have been awarded FEMA housing assistance. For more information, and to apply for assistance homeowners should visit:

www.IowansHelpingIowans.com> .

The 38 Iowa counties declared presidential disaster areas for Individual Assistance are: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, O'Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster and Wright Counties.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: