[Masthead] Rain ~ 43°F  
High: 47°F ~ Low: 40°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Pilot Rock DAR Chapter Awards

Monday, February 21, 2011

DAR Essay winners - Topic-Pretend that you are Paul Revere and write your memoirs. That 's what these Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn students had to do for the DAR Essay Contest. Pictured, left to right are 5th graders, Aliyah Jackson, Cody Schuck, AshLee Woodall, and DAR representative Nancy Hier. Absent, Aspen Woodall. Sixth grade winners were Natalie Ruba, Abby Hantsbarger, Melanie Werthman and Hunter Johnson. Photo contributed
On Sunday, Feb. 6, Pilot Rock NSDAR Chapter presented awards to area youth and adults. Nancy Hier presented the American History Essay awards to students.

First place winners read their essays at the program.Grade Five students honored were Cody Schuck, first place; Alijah Jackson, second place; Ashlee Woodall third place and Aspen Woodall, honorable mention.

Grade Six students honored were Natalie Ruba, first place; Hunter Johnson, second place; Abby Hantsbarger third place; and Melanie Werthman, honorable mention. Fifty-seven students entered the contest this year. All students participating in this contest were from MMC Community School.

Nancy Parrott is their social studies teacher.

High school seniors were recognized as their school's Good Citizen Award recipient. Roberta Klingborg, Good Citizen Chairperson presented awards to the high school seniors. Aurelia High School's Good Citizen award winner was Audrey Winterhof, daughter of Dan and Lynn Winterhof.

Brock Dagel, son of Bruce and Leah Dagel represented Washington High School. Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn High School's Good Citizen Award winner was Brianna Wilberding, daughter of Paul and Joan Wilberding. Students were asked to write an essay to continue to the next level of competition.

Brianna Willberding's essay was selected to move to the next level of completion. Brianna read her essay during the awards program. Pilot Rock NSDAR chapter presented Opal Williams with two chapter awards.The first award was for her chapter service to Veterans.

The chapter also recognized Opal for all her work with prospective DAR members. Nancy Parrott presented the awards to Opal. Jim Adamson was unable to be at the program, he will receive his award at the March meeting. Members of the Mary Bailey Potter CAR chapter assisted in opening ceremonies.

These included Fran and Clare Conley from Cherokee, and Betsy, Hannah, Abby, and David Ehmcke from Sioux City. Betsy Ehmcke, National CAR Curator spoke about the national CAR curator's project. Abby Ehmcke, President of the Mary Bailey Potter CAR chapter offered chapter greetings to the audience.

Mary Beth Seggermann of Kingsley provided piano music for the program. After refreshments were served, Linda Craig, Elaine Leavitt and Peggy Corrington delivered cookie boxes to the work activity center and area nursing homes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: