Cherokee Symphony Winter Concert Sunday

Thursday, March 10, 2011
Maestro Lee Thorson

The Cherokee Symphony will present its annual Winter Concert Sunday, March 13, at 4 p.m. in the Cherokee Community Center.

The program will feature Bach Brandenburg Concerto Number 2 with four talented soloists, including special guest Robert Gibson from Sioux City on the piccolo trumpet.

Longtime Cherokee Symphony Conductor Lee Thorson will join the other players on the cello.

The program also includes the hauntingly beautiful "The Tender Land" Suite by Aaron Copeland, and Tchaikovsky's rousing "Capriccio Italien."

Other soloists to be featured include violinist Grant Beckwith, Concert Master from Sioux City; Cherokee's Joseph Vanatta on the oboe; flutist Lavila Nelson, a Cherokee Symphony member and band instructor at Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn; and Maestro Thorson and Judy Fells. A harpsichord also will be featured in accompaniment courtesy of James and Kathryn March of Sioux City.

Admission to the March 13 concert is by season ticket, or $10 at the door. Students through high school are admitted free.

Don't forget to reset your clocks Saturday night, March 12 (Spring Ahead) for Daylight Savings Time or you'll be an hour late.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: