[Masthead] Fog ~ 36°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

'Iowans Helping Iowans' deadline June 30

Friday, March 25, 2011

DES MOINES - Iowans affected by the 2010 natural disasters have through June 30, 2011, to apply for housing, business and unmet needs financial assistance through the Iowans Helping Iowans programs.

The Iowa Finance Authority, Iowa Department of Economic Development and the Rebuild Iowa Office with the support of the Iowa Department of Human Services administer the programs. The Iowans Helping Iowans program is a three-tier initiative that was created in August, 2010 to provide housing, small business and unmet needs assistance to Iowans in the 38 declared disaster areas for Individual Assistance after the flooding in 2010. The application deadline for the three programs is June 30, 2011. More information and application information is available at: www.IowansHelpingIowans.com. An additional disaster case management program has an application deadline of June 1, 2011. The 38 counties declared presidential disaster areas for Individual Assistance are: Appanoose, Black Hawk, Boone, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, O'Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster and Wright Counties. Housing assistance ∑ Assistance: Individuals whose homes were damaged by the 2010 natural disaster and are not proposed for buyouts may receive up to $25,000 for the cost of eligible repair expenses for a disaster-affected home. Down payment assistance for the purchase of a replacement home outside the 100-year flood plain is also available for individuals whose homes were destroyed or damaged beyond repair. The assistance may not exceed the lesser of 25 percent of the purchase price of the home being purchased or $25,000. ∑

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: