[Masthead] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Essay winners

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

In the photo to the right, these Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn students proudly hold the checks they earned by writing an essay entitled "Why I Love America." left to right, Caden Remington, the 1st place fourth grader, who was also the district winner; 3rd place Colton Meyer; 2nd place fourth grader Joe Johnson; 1st place fifth grade winner Maddie Wahl; 2nd place Riley McDaniel; 3rd place winner Tyler Whited; sixth grade 2nd place winner Brian Schlintz; and 3rd place winner Natalie Ruba. Melanie Werthmann, the first place winner, was unavailable for the photo.

Members and officers of Post 2253 of Cherokee and the 8th District were also represented at the presentation. VFW and auxiliary members pictured are Robert Vannatta, Ed Boger. Mark Patterson, Orville Saxby, Dutch Robbins, Clint and Ruth Hoferman, Marie Michelson and Wilma Porter.

More happy winners - MMC students representing the third grade essay winners were 3rd place winner Josh Frederick, 2nd place winner Mitch Rhodes and 1st place winner Haley Schwarz, who also placed second at the District level. Photo by Nancy Hohbach

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: