[Masthead] Overcast and Breezy ~ 45°F  
High: 47°F ~ Low: 40°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Extension Line

Monday, April 11, 2011

On March 25, Iowa State University President, Gregory Geoffroy, announced his intention to leave his post no later than July 31, 2012. He will remain president of Iowa State until a successor is named. He cited the accomplishment of key goals and a desire to spend more time with his family as primary factors in his decision. He became the 14th president of Iowa State University on July 1, 2001. How many of these previous ISU Presidents have you heard of before now?

Martin C. Jischke, 13th President, served from 1991-2000. During his tenure, he led the university in a revitalization of the land-grant mission of teaching, research and outreach.

Gordon P. Eaton, 12th President, served from 1986-1990. During Eaton's four years, his administration saw greatly enhanced faculty salaries and significant increases in support for research.

W. Robert Parks, 11th President, served from 1965-1986. Parks was ISU's longest-serving president. During his 21 years, ISU experienced the most dramatic growth in enrollment and academic programs.

James H. Hilton, 10th President, served from 1953-65. The only Iowa State graduate to occupy its highest office, Hilton completed his B.S. in animal husbandry in 1923.

Charles E. Friley, 9th President, served from 1936-53. His term spanned higher ed's most turbulent era, from the Depression through World War II and into the post-war "educational revolution."

Raymond M. Hughes, 8th President, served from 1927-36. Hughes was Iowa State's first Iowa-born president and guided the college through the difficult Depression years.

Raymond A. Pearson, 7th President, served from 1912-26. Pearson broadened the extension service and gave wholehearted support to "big-time" goals in athletics.

Albert B. Storms, 6th President, served from 1903-10. Storms was pastor of the First Methodist Church of Des Moines when he was appointed ISU president in 1903. He assisted in founding the Iowa State Alumni Association.

William M. Beardshear, 5th President, served from 1891-1902. Beardshear joined the Union army at the age of 14 and served in the Civil War. He suffered a fatal heart attack while serving as President.

William I. Chamberlain, 4th President, served from 1886-90. Chamberlain faced an extraordinarily turbulent situation when he assumed the presidency at Iowa State which finally led to his resignation.

Leigh S.J. Hunt, 3rd President, served from 1885-86. Hunt had headed several Iowa school systems and was superintendent of East Des Moines School District at the time of his appointment as president.

Seaman A. Knapp, 2nd President, served from 1883-84. He gained notice as a stockman, speaker and farm journalist and prior to being President was appointed to head Iowa State's program in agriculture.

Adonijah S. Welch, 1st President, served from 1868-83. He was serving as Reconstruction senator from Florida when he accepted appointment as Iowa State's first president. He is recognized as a pioneer administrator in land-grant education.

To read more about the leadership of Iowa State University, please go to: