[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 43°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Outstanding High School Seniors To Be Honored At Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony

Monday, April 18, 2011

WEST DES MOINES - 449 high school seniors from across Iowa will be honored at 1 p.m. on Sunday, May 1, at the Eighth Annual Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony, held at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines.

The Governor's Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, are presenting this recognition program.

The Honorable Governor Terry Branstad will host the event and address the audience of 2,500-plus. Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Lang and Mike Billings, superintendent of Schools at Roland-Story Community Schools, Story City, and chairperson of the Board of Control of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, will welcome the students and their guests.

The seniors being honored were selected by their high schools as the school's highest academic achievers. Each student will receive a photo plaque of themselves with Governor Branstad and a certificate to commemorate their achievement and each student's most influential teacher will also receive a certificate. A reception for the students, their parents, their most influential teachers and other guests will follow the ceremony.

In addition to being recognized as the state's brightest students, over 99 percent of the group are active participants in school activities, with over 82 percent participating in at least one interscholastic sport. To date, more than 60 percent of the students have indicated a plan to pursue their post-secondary education in Iowa.

Students who have been selected for this prestigious honor from schools in the Chronicle Times coverage area include Audrey Winterhof, Aurelia High School; Emily Cook, Cherokee Washington; Briana Wilberding, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn; Jessica Mathes and Kelsey Davidson, Ridge View; and Dylan Fluke, River Valley.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: