[Masthead] Fair ~ 71°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

SOS wins boys title at Eagle Co-ed

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

MARCUS - South O'Brien won the boys division of the 2011 Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn Eagle Co-ed Relays with 168 team points here Friday night, with Orange City Unity Christian finishing second with 148 points.

Mitch Brady of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn keeps the pace during this distance run at Friday's Eagle Co-ed Relays in Marcus. Photo by Paul Struck
Alta-Aurelia was third with 130, followed by host MMC 74, Remsen St. Mary's 8, and Granville Spalding 7.

The Wolverines totaled seven firsts in claiming the team title, with Dillon Zimmer a double individual winner for SOS, winning the 200 meters in 23.0, and the 400 meters in 53.72. Other individual champs for SOS were Eric Magnussen's 120-5 discus throw, Ben Wagner's 6-0 high jump, and Bret Puhrman's 19-6 long jump.

In addition, the Wolverines won the 4x200 relay in 1:38.01, and the 4x100 relay in 46.2. No names were submitted for the SOS relay teams.

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn thrower Levi Letsche shares a laugh with coach Brad Cave during the Eagle Co-ed Relays Friday in Marcus. Letsche, who admittedly had an "off day," was fourth in the discus and fifth in the shot
Seconds for SOS were Zac Lund's 39-0 shot put, Cole Ebel's 11.76 time in the 100 meters, the shuttle hurdle relay in a time of 1:06.66, and the medley relay in 4:02.58.

SOS thirds included Will Friedrichsen's 38-5 shot put, Daniel Patterson's 11:25.60 time in the 3200 meters, Drew Johannsen's 19.19 time in the 110 hurdles, Matt De Vos's 1:00.49 in the 400 hurdles, and Nathan Struve's 5:14.66 in the 1600 meters.

Fourths for the Wolverines included John Gray's 11.86 in the 100 meters, Luke Hoger's 5:20.97 time in the 1600 meters, Struve's 2:27.85 clocking in the 800 meters, and the 4x400 relay timed in 3:44.48.

For MMC boys, Reece Jackson was second in the 110 hurdles in 17.37, Blake Erdman was second in the 400 meters in 54.77, Levi Letsche fourth in the discus with a 110-3 throw, and Erdman was third in the 200 meters in 23.84.

In the relays for MMC, the medley relay of Dalton Brady, Andrew Hoefling, Neal Bunt, and Zach Specht was first in 3:56.85; the 4x400 of Hoefling, Brady, Erdman, and Bunt was second in 3:40.74; the 4x200 was second in 1:38.37 with Hoefling, Tanner Utesch, Brady, and Bunt aboard; the 4x100 of Michael Deichmann, Utesch, Colin Sears, and Dylan Spieler was fourth in 49.90; the shuttle hurdle was fourth in 1:14.73 with Jackson, Erik Nelson, Jacob Letsche, and Zach Reuter running; and the 4x800 was fourth with Zack Kellog, Brady, Spieler, and Sears aboard in 10:13.58.

For the Alta-Aurelia boys, Neil Marshall won the 110 meter hurdles in 15.75 and Tyler Larson was fourth in 19.74; Austin Delp won the 800 meters in 2:19.44 and Larson was third in 2:26.52; Ryan Friedrich was second in the high jump with a 5-10 leap and AJ Lange was fourth with a 5-8 effort; Lange was third in the long jump with an 18-3 leap and Shawn Rowell was fourth with a 17-11 1/4 effort; Larson was third in the 3200 meters in 11:35.57; Jordan Schmitz was second in the 400 hurdles in 57.91 and Marshall fourth in 1:01.15; Jalen Henningsen fourth in the 200 meters in 24.72; and Schmitz third in the 400 meters in 56.11.

In the relays for the A-A Warriors, the shuttle hurdle was first in 1:04, the 4x100 third in 49.4, the 4x400 third in 3:43.91, the medley third in 4:02.90, the 4x200 third in 1:39.91, and the 4x800 second in 9:31.28. No names for the A-A relay teams were submitted.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: