[Masthead] Fair ~ 60°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 43°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

County accepts proposed boundaries for Supervisor Districts

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Graybill says he will not seek re-election

The Cherokee County Board of Supervisors met with members of the Cherokee County Temporary Redistricting Commission on Tuesday at the Cherokee County Courthouse.

Among the Commission members present at Tuesday's meeting were Gil Bremicker, Ken Ogren and Lynn Winterhof.

The Commission presented the Supervisors with a proposed district map for Cherokee County Supervisors, which the Supervisors ultimately approved.

Population using data from the 2010 U.S. Census determined the districts. According to the 2010 U.S. Census, Cherokee County has a population of 12,072 representing a negative 7.4 percent loss from the recorded 13,032 population of Cherokee County in the 2000 U.S. Census, which results in a population shift in the five Supervisors districts.

Using the total County population, the Committee divided that total by the five Supervisor districts and got the target number of the ideal district population number of 2,414 and an overall variation of 40.

* District 1, population 2,420 with a variation of 6

* District 2, population 2,414 with a variation of 0

* District 3, population 2,427 with a variation of 13

* District 4, population 2,416 with a variation of 2

* District 5, population 2,395 with a variation of -19

The total maximum Allowable Variation is 24.144 in a given district and the average variation of 8 comes from the overall variation of 40.

This compared to the current district's average variation of 64.4 for the overall variation of 322.

With the use of computer mapping from the County's GIS Department, this is the lowest average variation along with closest target numbers that Cherokee County has ever had when redrawing the Supervisor Districts.

These new lines on a map come with a decision for Supervisor Terry Graybill of District 5. Graybill currently lives in District 5 but the new proposed District 5 will leave Graybill's residence within the new proposed District 4, which is Supervisor Mark Leeds' district.

Graybill has the option of running for District 4 when his term is up in 2012, which would put him up against Leeds who was re-elected in 2010 for a four-year term.

However, Graybill can choose not to run at all and Leeds will remain in District 4 until his term expires in 2014.

Graybill has gone on the record with his choice. He stated on Wednesday, "I'm not going to be running next year. I believe in term limits, and I've been in for two terms. If it's good enough for the President of the United States, it's good enough for me. Having career politicians is what I believe is the biggest problem in politics. I'd be a hypocrite if I wanted to stay in, plus Mark was just re-elected. Why go through another election after just two years?"

With Graybill's exit, District 4 will remain with Leeds and District 5 will be an open seat in 2012.

The other three Supervisors do not have to face the same choices as Graybill. Supervisor Jeff Simonsen will still be representing District 3 and his term is up in 2014, Supervisor Larry Pruntry will still represent District 2 and his term is up in 2012, and Supervisor Dean Schmidt will represent District 1 and his term is also up in 2012.

The County will be sending the proposed new Supervisor Districts to the State Auditors Office on Aug. 30 for final approval.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: