[Masthead] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Warrior boys win own XC Invite

Thursday, September 29, 2011

ALTA - The Alta-Aurelia varsity boys took first place in Monday's Alta-Aurelia Cross Country meet here, scoring 55 team points to beat second-place Sioux Central by 15 points.

South O'Brien finished one point behind Sioux Central, and they were followed by Manson NW Webster and Hinton. Despite their 5th place finish as a team, Hinton's Drew Schlitz was the individual champion, with his time of 16:37 beating the runner-up, MNW's Daniel Patterson, by 1:02.

Austin Delp was the Warriors' top finisher, as his time of 17:56 was good enough for 6th place, just ahead of teammate Tyler Larson, who finished in 18:03. Other Alta-Aurelia runners included Trenton Delp (18:08), Jayden Van Berkum (18:25), Ross Friedrich (18:34), Jordan Schmitz (18:54) and Jared Schmitz (19:27).

The MMC/RU boys varsity did not have enough runners to qualify for the team competition, but individually, the Eagles' Zach Kellogg placed 33rd with his time of21:34 and sophomore Ben Brady placed 35th in a time of 22:06.

In the Girls' Varsity competition, Sioux Central won the team title with 55 points, while Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn/Remsen Union was second with 80 points and Hinton was third with 99. The Alta-Aurelia girls scored 104 team points to finish 4th in the seven-team girls' field, and Sibley-Ocheydan, South O'Brien and Manson Northwest Webster rounded out the field.

Alta-Aurelia's Ali Turnquist led the AA contingent, while Alyssa Turnquist of A-A finished in a time of 18:45 and the Warriors' Jayna Brechwald ran a 19:04. Chayce Glienke, Tami Bertrand and Rachel Husman also ran for Alta-Aurelia.

Nicki Schwartz led MMC/RU's team with a 5th place finish in a time of 16:04; while Sarh Bird was 13th, in 17:16; Heather Hoefling was 17th, in 17:37' Sydney Roberts was 19th, in 17:46; Amber Nesius was 26th, in 18:35; and Anna Wilcox had a time of 19:18. South O'Brien's Kellie Einck, Arielle Wohlert, Miranda Leibsack and Rebecca Thiel also ran, with Einck posting the best time of that group, 18:56.

In JV girls' competition, only MMC/RU had enough runners to post a team score. MMC/RU's JV runners were Carly Lenhoff, Monica DelaCruz, Alissa McDermott, Jeri Welp, Tina Wilkens, Jill Addison, Casey Wurth and Mallory Roseen. Alta-Aurelia's Mackenzie Gaes also competed in the JV girls' division.

The Alta-Aurelia JV Boys beat out four competitors (HMS, Hinton, Sioux Central and South O'Brien) for the Boys JV title, as the Warriors took 1st, 3rd, 4th and 5th in the individual competition. The Warriors' Jayson Van Haaften won in a time of 19:44 and teammates Michael Swanson, Josh Baxter and Sean Berg ran times of 20:03, 20:30 and 20:44, respectively.

Nathan Flaherty, Jason Flaherty, Ben Sand, Matthew Swanson and Alex Larson also ran for the Warrior JV boys.

MMC/RU had three runners competing in the JV race - freshmen Nathan Ruba, Mitch Brady and Tyler Pearson.

There was also competition for Junior High boys and girls, with Sibley-Ocheydan runners winning both of those races. Alta-Aurelia's Reghan Harms was second in the girls' Junior High race, trailing the winner by six seconds, and Alta-Aurelia's John Tuttle was third in the boys' Junior High race.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: