[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 42°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Cherokee School Board members start new terms

Friday, September 30, 2011

Three re-elected incumbent Cherokee School Board members were administered the oath of office during last week's School Board meeting.

Those sworn in to officially begin their new terms were Laura Dawson, Deb Johnson, and Jack Creel.

Dawson was re-appointed President of the Board and Creel was re-appointed as Vice-President.

The Board agreed to continue meeting on the third Monday each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Washington High School library, unless otherwise noted.

In other various Board appointments, Dawson was appointed to serve as a delegate to the Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB) General Assembly and legislative Action Network.

Among other Standing Board Committees appointments were:

*Curriculum & Instruction - Dawson and Johnson.

*Board Policy - Creel and Teri Weaver.

*Finance - Dawson and Creel.

*Buildings, Grounds, Capitol Projects, Facilities - Larry Goodrich and Johnson.

*Transportation, Nutrition - Goodrich and Weaver.

In other regular business action, the Board approved the resignation of Tyler Youngers as freshman baseball coach, and approved the resignation of Heath Hagberg as WHS girls golf coach pending finding a suitable replacement.

The Board also approved the resignation of Patricia Engelke as Special Education Associate at WHS, approved a contract for Jill Paulsen as Special Education Associate at Roosevelt Elementary school, approved a contract for Jayme Glassmaker as Special Education Associate at Cherokee Middle School, and approved a contract for Debbie Kelly as Special Education Associate at WHS to replace Engelke.

The Board also approved a request for out-of-state travel for Kristine Zylstra's 6th grade music students for a trip to the Sioux City Symphony and the Music Museum at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion, S.D.

Superintendent Dr. John Chalstrom advised the Board that building counts were up in all three District buildings (WHS, CMS, RES) and that official student enrollment numbers would be certified after Oct. 1.

Chalstrom also introduced Board members to the new Technology Director, Donna Sennert, and the new Braves varsity wrestling coach Austin Todd, who is also student teaching in the District.

Chalstrom informed the Board that a short circuit and resulting power surge is the suspected culprit in accidentally turning on the sprinklers at the south end of George Hicks Field during the Braves home football game against Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove two weeks ago.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: