[Masthead] Fair ~ 60°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Spirit Lake, E'burg advance to semis

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

High school football teams across the state have played their quarterfinal games, fighting for the right to advance to the the State semi-final round at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls.

In a Class A quarterfinal between perennial powerhouses at Britt last Friday, LeMars Gehlen Catholic fell to West Hancock, 47-40; In a Class 1A game at Emmetsburg, the undefeated E-Hawks soundly defeated District rival West Lyon, 35-0, thereby assuring a new Class 1A champion this season, as the Wildcats were last year's champ. Host Kuemper Catholic fell to Spirit Lake, 31-7, in a Class 2A game at Carroll, and another perennial powerhouse, Harlan, playing at home, took out Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, 28-7, in a Class 3A quarterfinal.

In Class A Semi-final games at the UNI Dome this Friday,November 11th, Newman Catholic (11-1) meets Lisbon (12-0) at 10 a.m. and West Hancock (11-1) will meet Madrid (10-2) at 1:30 p.m. The winners will meet for the Class A championship at 2:06 p.m. on Saturday November 18th.

Class 1-A semifinal games will be played this Saturday,Nov. 12th, with St. Ansgar (10-2) meeting West Branch (10-2) at 9:30 a.m. and Emmetsburg (12-0) taking on St. Albert, Council Bluffs (12-0) at 12 noon in a battle of unbeatens. The Class 1A Championship game will be played on Saturday November 19th.

Class 2A semi-final games will be played on Monday November 14th, with Beckman, Dyersville (11-1) playing Iowa City Regina (12-0) at 10:30 a.m. and Spirit Lake (12-0) meeting West Marshall of State Center, also 12-0, at 1:30 p.m. The Class 2A Championship game will be played at 1:05 p.m. on

Saturday November 19th.

Class 3A semi-final games are scheduled for Monday, November 14th, with Harlan (9-3) playing Decorah (10-2) at 4:30 p.m. and Union of LaPorte City (10-2) meeting ADM, Adel (12-0) at 7:30 p.m. The Championship Game will be at 4:06 p.m. on Saturday November 19th.

In 8-Man football, the unbeaten squads from Armstrong-Ringsted and Fremont-Mills, Tabor will square off at 1 p.m. this Thursday (Nov. 10), after Clarksville (12-1) and Murray (11-1) play at 10 a.m. that day in the other semi -final game. The 8A Championship Game will be played at 10:36 a.m. on Friday November 18th.

Class 4A semi-finalists Valley West Des Moines (12-0) and Ankeny (11-1) meet Friday night, Nov. 11, at 7:30 p.m., following the Cedar Falls (11-1) and Bettendorf (11-1) game, which is scheduled for a 4:30 kick-off. The 4A Championship game will take place at 7:05 p.m. on Friday November 18th.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: