[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 43°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

WHS to perform comedy Friday and Saturday

Thursday, November 10, 2011

In this scene from the Cherokee Washington High School's production of "You Can't Take It With You," the eccentric Sycamore clan is planing a meeting with their future in-laws. Will the meeting go on with out a hitch? You can find out on Friday or Saturday at 7 p.m. at the WHS Auditorium. Pictured, left to right are cast members, Libby Peterson, David LaFluer, Blake Halverson, Markus West, Alex Maurer, Jacob Fry, Brian Nelson, Mariah Clyde and Abby Lubeck.
Washington High School students will present the classic screwball comedy 'You Can't Take It With You,' by George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart, at 7 p.m. on Friday and Saturday in the WHS Auditorium.

The play, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 1937 and the Academy Award for Best Picture in 1938, concerns Alice, the only relatively normal member of the eccentric Sycamore family, who has fallen in love with Tony Kirby, whose wealthy banker father and his snobbish mother strongly disapprove of the match. When the Kirbys are invited to dinner to become better acquainted with their future in-laws, things do not turn out the way Alice had hoped. The WHS production is directed by Tyler Youngers, with Emily Estala and Abby Hayes serving as Assistant Student Directors.

Mariah Clyde
Cast members include : Mariah Clyde as Penelope Sycamore; Libby Peterson as Essie Carimichael; Abby Lubeck as Rheba; Brian Nelson as Paul Sycamore; Blake Halverson

as Mr. De Pinna; David LaFluer as Ed Carmichael; Jacob Fry as Donald; Markus West

as Martin Vanderhof; Molly White as Alice Sycamore; Jaden Lux as Wilbur C. Henderson; Colton Trent as Tony Kirby; Alex Maurer as Boris Kolenkhov; Will Vietor as Gay Wellington; Brett Walker as Anthony C. Kirby; Amanda Kellen as Miriam Kirby;

Hannah Lewis, Becca Sparks, Nathan Dodd as G-Men 1, 2, and 3; and Kristin Gerhardt

as Grand Duchess Olga Katrina.

Brian Nelson and Blake Halverson
Nate Fowler, Josh Haupert, Rachel Corken, Brendan Nelson, Brianna Kellen, Ligia Cano, Sammy Hirschman, Andy Pitts, Levi Murphy, Morgan Greene, and Hannah Burkhart comprise the members of the technical crew.

Libby Peterson

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: