[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 44°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 43°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Citizen of the Year nominations sought

Friday, December 2, 2011

Nominations are now being accepted for the 22nd Annual Citizen of the Year Award, which is presented by the Mayor of Cherokee to recognize an "individual who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the entire community of Cherokee, outside their chosen trade or profession".

Cherokee's Citizen of the Year is selected by the Mayor's Committee consisting of representatives from the following groups: City or County government, industry, school, ministerial, service organizations, medical, and business.

Past recipients of the award include Earl Pickens, Don Agostine, E.T. Parker, Joan Ballantyne, Jim Bleakly, Wayne & Marlys Woolridge, Joe Lundsgaard, Dave Sayre, Tom & Jean Miller, DuWayne Rupp, R.J. & Doris Thomas, Wilma Starkey, Jim Adamson, LeRoy "Herb" Ford, Mark Minger, Sherry Held, John Cook, Jr., Wayne Morris, Bev Anderson Ziemen, Lee & Pearl Jenness, and Phyllis Parrott.

Nomination forms are available at city hall and local banks, or you may just submit a letter to city hall, 416 West Main Street or email it to HYPERLINK "mailto:cityckech@evertek.net" cityckech@evertek.net. Please list the contributions of your nominee in detail if possible. Deadline for nominations is 4:30 p.m., Friday, January 20th. The award will be presented at the CAEDC Annual Recognition Banquet in March. Mayor Mark Murphy thanks Cherokee citizens for the support you have shown this program.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: