[Masthead] Fair ~ 65°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Braves win Fuhrman Invitational

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Andy Pitts of Cherokee has Cody Hopkins of Maple Valley/Anthon-Oto in near-fall position on his way to a pin win and a runner-up finish at Saturday's Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational here. Photo by Reta Todd
Champions Anderson, Back lead Cherokee to history

History was made at Cherokee Washington High Saturday as the fast-improving Cherokee Braves wrestling team won the annual Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational for the first time ever.

The Braves, under first-year coach Austin Todd, scored 173 points to win the tournament formerly called the Cherokee Wrestling Invitational. A few years ago, then coach Jason Wood led a movement to rename the annual tourney to honor Cherokee's retired teacher/coach/administrator Paul Fuhrman, who today continues working all wrestling meets hosted in Cherokee.

Cherokee's Miah Back bullrushes East Sac County's Adam Haukop shortly before pinning him on his way to the championship at 285 pounds in Saturday's Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational in Cherokee. Photo by Reta Todd
Maple Valley/Anthon-Oto placed second in the tourney Saturday with 156 points, followed by Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn 147, Hull Western Christian 139.50, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 134.50, MOC-Floyd Valley 130, Sioux Central 95, Kingsley-Pierson 79, and East Sac County 63.

The Braves crowned two champions, including Zac Anderson at 152 pounds, and Miah Back at 285.

In addition, Cherokee racked up three runner-up finishes and two thirds, two fourths, and two fifths.

Anderson pinned Tyler Top of MOC-FV in 1:57, beat John McNaughton of K-P 7-1, and pinned Brett Flynn of HMS in 5:06 to win his championship.

Cherokee's Gabe Conley ponders his next move against MOC-FV opponent Stefan Kinsinger, before going on to pin him during the Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational in Cherokee Saturday. Photo by Reta Todd
Back drew a first-round bye, pinned Adam Haukap of ESC in 3:40, and pinned Derek Maas of MVAO in 4:13 for his championship.

Andy Pitts was second at 120 pounds for Cherokee, receiving a first-round bye, pinning Cody Hopkins of MVAO in 5:12, and losing by technical fall 18-3 to Dakotah Goodvin of HMS in the finals.

Blake Booth was second at 170, pinning Drew Hoekstra of HWC in 3:37, beating Ady Berry of MVAO 10-4, and losing by fall to Jake Meehan of MMC in 2:35 in the finals.

Zac Anderson of Cherokee controls his opponent on his way to winning the championship at 152 pounds at Saturday's Paul Fuhrman Wrestling Invitational in Cherokee. Photo by Reta Todd
Rick Weaver was second at 145, with a first-round bye, pinning Tyler Pearson of MMC in 3:43, and losing 10-3 to Steven Schafer of MVAO in the finals.

Also for the Braves, Gabe Conley was third at 182, with a first-round bye, losing by fall to Justin Theisen of MMC in 3:49, pinning Alexander Davis of HWC in 1:33, and pinning Stefan Kinsinger of MOC-FV in 3:50.

Jose Morales was third for the Braves at 220, pinning Derek Via of MVAO in 1:14, losing by fall to Lawton De Jong of MOC-FV in 1:24, pinning Alex Rath of K-P in 1:37, and beating Tyler Schuck of MMC 6-3.

Ben McDaniel of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn has his opponent in a precarious position during recent wrestling action. McDaniel won his weight class at Saturday's wrestling tournament in Cherokee. Photo by Jeff Benson, Lyon County Reporter
earning fourth-place finishes for Cherokee were Luke Zeimen at 160, and Hunter Morrow at 126. Zeimen and Morrow were each 2-2 in matches for the day. Trevor Devitt at 195, and Jack Letsche at 138 placed fifth.

MMC had two champions in the tourney, one runner-up, three thirds, two fourths, and two sixths.

The MMC champs were Ben McDaniel at 106, and Jake Meehan at 170. Eagle seconds went to Justin Theisen at 182, and thirds went to Levi Letsche at 285, Tyler Pearson at 145, and Connor Holmes at 160. MMC fourths went to Dylan Rolfes at 152, and Tyler Schuck at 220. Mark Peters was sixth at 126, and Cole Sand sixth at 138.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: