[Masthead] Overcast and Breezy ~ 44°F  
High: 47°F ~ Low: 40°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

'Blue Ribbon Fair' Award to Cherokee County Fair

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Members of the Cherokee County Fair Board are pictured receiving the "Blue Ribbon Fair" Award by the Board of Directors of the Association of Iowa Fairs. Pictured front row, left to right, Lisa Grashoff, Brad Nelson, Leon Klotz, Chris Nelson and Lanna Rife. Back row, Dewayne Gaudian, of O'Brien County, Doug Stowater, Dale Henke, Brandon Rife, Rusty Grashoff, Dolan Grashoff and Eric Lundell. Photo contributed
CRESCO - The Cherokee County Fair, held in Cherokee, has received the 2011 "Blue Ribbon Fair" Award by the Board of Directors of the Association of Iowa Fairs.

The award was presented to the Board of Directors of the Cherokee County Fair at the Association's 2011 Conference and Annual Meeting, which was held December 9-0-11 at the Airport Holiday Inn in Des Moines. The Cherokee County Fair was chosen to receive the award from all the fairs in the Association's Northwest District.

"One member fair in each of the Association's six fair districts in Iowa is presented this award each year." stated Thomas Barnes, Executive Director of the Association.

"The fair that receives this award must have shown progress in providing service to the youth programs in their community, plus show distinguished service the community in both fair and non fair areas. My wife Sue and I have visited the Cherokee County Fair several times and we found it does indeed serve very well the community as outlined in the guidelines of this award," added Barnes.

"The Board of Directors of the Association of Iowa Fairs would like to extend to its sincere appreciation to the Cherokee County Fair Board and their spouses for their commitment to their Fair, and to the fair industry in Iowa," Barnes added.

"We also extend our appreciation to the Cherokee County Extension Service, 4-H leaders and members, area FFA Chapters and to all the many other area volunteers that are involved with the Cherokee County Fair. They all combined make the Cherokee County Fair a Blue Ribbon Fair," said Barnes.

The Association of Iowa Fairs is the organizational body of the fair industry in Iowa. It has as its members the 106 county fairs of Iowa and the Iowa State Fair, and 130 plus associate members such as carnivals, entertainment agencies, festivals, chambers, concessionaires, special attractions and suppliers of the industry. Together, the members of the Association work together to promote and strengthen the fair industry in Iowa.

The 2012 officers of the Association are President Jim Mohr of Coon Rapids, First Vice President Joe Yedlik of Walker and Second Vice President Jo Reynolds of Indianola. The immediate Past President is Darwin Gaudian of Primghar. Thomas and Susan Barnes of Cresco serve as the Association's Executive Director and Executive Secretary/Treasurer respectively, and are associated with the Mighty Howard County Fair in Cresco. For further information on the Association of Iowa Fairs, visit www.iowafairs.com.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: