[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 55°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 61°F
Sunday, May 29, 2016

City appointments to Boards and Commissions

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Several positions on City of Cherokee Boards and Commissions expire effective December 31, 2011, and some of the current members may seek re-appointment, and others may choose not to serve another term.

All citizens residing in the City limits of Cherokee are eligible to serve on a Board or Commission.

Mayor Mark Murphy is asking that persons with an interest submit their name, a brief background, and the Board or Commission that they wish to be considered for to the City Clerk, 416 W. Main St., Cherokee, IA 51012 on or before January 4, 2012.

The City Council will make appointments to the following Boards and Commissions at the City's first regular meeting on January 10, 2012:

*Planning and Zoning Commission: The Planning and Zoning Commission is a seven member advisory board that maintains the City Comprehensive Plan, Zoning Code and Subdivision Regulations. In addition the Commission reviews and makes recommendations regarding public works projects. Two appointments are to be filled.

*Board of Adjustment: The Board of Adjustment is a five member board that is charged with reviewing citizen requests for variances from the City's zoning codes and/or allegations that an error has been made in the interpretation of the Zoning Code. There is one vacancy to be filled.

*Historic Preservation Commission: The Historic Preservation Commission is responsible for identification of historic districts and sites and the preservation and restoration of said sites within Cherokee. The Commission has recently been expanded from seven to a nine member Board. Three current positions and the two new positions need to be filled.

*Siouxland Regional Housing Authority: The Siouxland Regional Housing Authority is a five county authority that provides oversight of federally subsidized Section 8 housing in the region. Cherokee has one member serving on the Housing Authority.

If you have questions regarding an appointment, please contact Don Eikmeier, Administrator or Deb Taylor, Clerk/Treasurer at 712 225-5749.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: