[Masthead] Fair ~ 42°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 52°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Ridge View wins Cherokee double dual

Monday, January 16, 2012

Gabe Conley of Cherokee has Ridge View's Henry Sippl in a predicament shortly before pinning him at last week's Cherokee double dual, also featuring Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn. Photo by Reta Todd
The Cherokee Braves wrestlers dropped both ends of a highly competitive double dual here Thursday, falling 39-36 to Ridge View, and 36-29 to Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn.

The Raptors beat MMC 45-33 to win the team title.

Double winners for the Braves beyond forfeits were Jack Letsche at 138, Zac Anderson at 152, and Luke Zeimen at 160. Pin winners for Cherokee included Hunter Morrow at 126, Weaver, Anderson, Zeimen, Blake Booth, and Gabe Conley.

"It was a night full of emotions," said Cherokee coach Austin Todd of his team on Senior Night. "The kids competed hard their first dual with Ridge View, but came up short at the end. In the next dual with MMC, I don't think the kids were quite over the previous loss. They fought back as hard as they could, but again came up short."

Cherokee's Jack Letsche controls Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn's Tyler Pearson in wrestling action at Cherokee's double dual Thursday night. Photo by Reta Todd
The two wins improved Ridge View's dual meet record to 13-6 overall, and coach Scott Phelps said it was a total team effort for the Raptors, as many of the kids stepped up and wrestled well.

Both meets came down to the last couple of matches, and Ridge View needed their wrestlers to step up and perform to get the wins, and in both cases they did.

Ridge View was behind 30-0 in the first dual against Cherokeee, and were behind by the score of 33-0 in the second dual, but Ridge View continued to battle back to get the victories.

Said Phelps, "The coaches are so proud of the kids and their efforts in both duals , but know we need to keep working hard to improve as we have many tough matches coming up in the next few weeks."

RV 39, C 36

106: Luke Kliegl, RV, won by forfeit

Rick Weaver of Cherokee rides Cole Sand of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn shortly before pinning him at Cherokee's double dual here last week. Photo by Reta Todd
113: Dylan Richards, RV, won by forfeit

120: Tristin Stibbens, RV, beat Andrew Pitts 13-6

126: Hunter Morrow, C, pinned Jason Kenny in 1:27

132: Ethan Bruning, RV, won by forfeit

138: Jack Letsche, C, beat Tylar Hansen 3-0

145: Rick Weaver, C, won by forfeit

152: Zac Anderson, C, pinned Brody Stoltze in 4:29

160: Luke Zeimen, C, beat Dru Kenny 8-6

170: Blake Booth, C, pinned Hayden Johnson in 4:18

182: Gabe Conley, C, pinned Henry Sippel in 1:43

195: Nathan Myrice, RV, pinned Trevor Devitt in 1:22

220: Michael Davidson, RV, pinned Jose Morales in 0:45

285: Logan Schafer, RV, pinned Miah Back in 1:53

RV 45, MMC 33

106: Luke Kliegl, RV, pinned Ben Mc Daniel in 2:58

113: Dylan Richards, RV, won by forfeit

120: Tristin Stibbens, RV, won by forfeit

126: Jason Kenny, RV, won by forfeit

132: Ethan Bruning, RV, won by forfeit

138: Tylar Hansen, RV, pinned Cole Sand in 1:42

145: Tyler Pearson, MMC, won by forfeit

152: Dylan Rolfes, MMC, beat Dru Kenny 14-5

160: Mitch Brady, MMC, pinned Dillon Kunneke in 1:59

170: Jacob Pearson, MMC, won by forfeit

182: Jacob Meehan, MMC, beat Henry Sippel 16-1

195: Justin Theisen, MMC, won by DQ over Nathan Myrice

220: Michael Davidson, RV, pinned Tanner Cronin in 0:49

285: Logan Schafer, RV, beat Dillon Mugge 2-1

MMC 36, C 29

103: Ben McDaniel, MMC, won by forfeit

113: Open

120: Andrew Pitts, C, won by forfeit

126: Hunter Morrow, C, won by forfeit

132: Open

138: Jack Letsche, C, beat Tyler Pearson 6-4

145: Rick Weaver, C, pinned Cole Sand :42

152: Zac Anderson, C, beat Dylan Rolfes 7-1

160: Luke Zeimen, C, pinned Mitch Brady 5:40

170: Jacob Pearson, MMC, pinned Blake Booth 1:47

182: Jacob Meehan, MMC, pinned Gabe Conley 3:23

195: Jacob Letsche, MMC, pinned Trevor Devitt 5:09

220: Tanner Cronin, MMC, pinned Jose Morales 5:25

285: Dillon Mugge, MMC, pinned Miah Back 5:31

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: