[Masthead] Fair ~ 58°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

SOS, A-A, MMC Jazz Bands to State

Friday, February 3, 2012

SIOUX CITY - The Northwest Iowa District Jazz Festival was held at the Sioux City Convention Center on Wednesday, and students from several area schools did very well in the competition.

In Class 2A, the South O'Brien Jazz Band took home first place and Alta-Aurelia finished second, qualifying both ensembles for the April 4th State Jazz Contest in Des Moines.

Shaan Desai, Eric Koehlmoos, Kate Aberson and Eric Magnussen of South O'Brien all earned Outstanding Musicianship awards for their solos as well.

Alta-Aurelia had five students receive Outstanding Musicianship awards - Michael Swanson, Brandon Glienke, Lexy Tuttle, Kate Carlson, and Gracie Winterhof.

Okoboji finished third, Rock Valley fourth and Cherokee fifth in Class 2A.

Cherokee Jazz Band members Rachel Corken, Jacob Fry and Jonah Seng all received Outstanding Musicianship awards.

In Class 1A, the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn Jazz Band finished second in Class 1A behind first place Central Lyon, so the MMC jazz band will also be going to the State Contest.

Anna Wilcox and Andrea Wester of MMC also received Outstanding Musicianship awards. Le Mars Gehlen Catholic was third, Kingsley-Pierson fourth and Newell-Fonda fifth in Class 1A.

The Cherokee Middle School Jazz Band also did well, finishing second among Class 2A/1A schools, and CMS band members Fran Conley, Josie Kindwall, Caleb Claycamp, Calvin Chalstrom, Mason Timmerman and Kyle Johnson were all cited for Outstanding Musicianship.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: