[Masthead] Fair ~ 47°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 52°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

3 Eagles, 2 Raptors earn State berths

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

SIBLEY - Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn qualified three wrestlers, and Ridge View two for the Iowa State Class 1A Wrestling Championships beginning Thursday in Des Moines.

The three MMC Eagles qualifying out of Saturday's Sibley-Ocheyedan District action include District champion Jacob Meehan at 160 pounds, and runners-up Jacob Pearson at 170, and Dillon Mugge at 285.

For Ridge View, District champions Mike Davidson at 220, and Logan Schafer at 285 earned State berths.

For MMC, the junior Meehan (39-2) will meet Maquoketa Valley junior Luke Kramer (35-12) in first-round action Thursday at State, Pearson (19-2) will meet Clarksville junior Dalton Ciavarelli (26-1) in his State opener, and Mugge meets Lisbon senior Tyler Smith (36-2) in his first-round match.

For Ridge View, Davidson (36-2) meets Northwest Webster senior Daniel Goodwin (37-8), and Schafer (36-4) meets Iowa City Regina senior Zach Ries (19-3).

Woodbury Central won the Class 1A District team title with 114.5 points, followed by Emmetsburg 82, Akron-Westfield 56, MMC 48, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 44.5, Ridge View 44, Hull Western Christian 39.5, Graettinger-Terril 39, Okoboji 27, West Sioux 22, S-O 20, Lawton-Bronson 14, Hinton 8

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: