[Masthead] Overcast ~ 42°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Pilot Rock DAR Chapter presents awards

Monday, February 20, 2012

Chapter Flag bearers - At the recent DAR Award ceremonies, Mary Bailey Potter C.A.R. Chapter Flag bearers were, left to right, Clare Conley, Fran Conley, Abby Ehmcke, and Betsy Ehmcke. Photo contributed
Pilot Rock NSDAR Chapter recently presented awards to area youths and adults at the Cherokee St. Paul United Methodist Church.

Nancy Parrott presented the American History Essay awards to students. First place winners read their essays at the program. Grade Five students honored were Colton Meyer, first place; Dakota Kasner, second place; Olivia Mohr third place; and Dean Jenness, honorable mention. Grade Six students honored were Cody Schuck, first place; Tristen Olson, second place; Steven Hickler-Lincoln; third place; Brad Galles, honorable mention; and Ashlee Woodall, honorable mention.

Fifty-seven students entered the contest this year. All students participating in this contest were from MMC Community School. Nancy Parrott is their social studies teacher.

High school seniors were recognized as their school's Good Citizen Award recipient. Roberta Klingborg, Good Citizen Chairperson, presented awards to the high school seniors.

Alta-Aurelia High School's Good Citizen award winner was Alyssa Turnquist. Molly White represented Washington High School. Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn High School's Good Citizen Award winner was Dalton Brady. Blane Cullen was River Valley's Good Citizen. Students were asked to write an essay to continue to the next level of competition. Alyssa Turnquist's essay was selected to move to the next level of competition.

Pilot Rock NSDAR Chapter presented several Community Awards. Carol Berkler, chapter Publicity chairperson, presented news media Awards to Cindy Hanner, former Aurelia Star owner, and Elaine Rassel from the Marcus News.

Elaine Leavitt from Marcus was presented a National Community Service Award from the Daughters of the American Revolution. Elaine was unanimously nominated by the chapter in the fall and letters of recommendation were sent with the award application. She is actively involved at the school, the local care center, her church, and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Regent Corrington presented Carol Berkler an award of appreciation for all her chapter work as Chapter Chaplin and assistance to the Regent.

Members of the Mary Bailey Potter Children of the American Revolution Chapter assisted in opening ceremonies. These included Fran and Clare Conley from Cherokee, and Betsy and Abby Ehmcke from Sioux City. Abby Ehmcke, Iowa C.A.R. State Recording Secretary offered chapter greetings to the audience.Betsy Ehmcke, N.S.C.A.R. National Historian encouraged youth in the audience to participate in the activities offered by C.A. R. membership.

Mary Beth Seggermann of Kingsley provided piano music for the program. After the program, refreshments were served. Jumpy Monkey Coffee was donated by the Cherokee County Work Services for the event. Linda Craig organized the delivery of cookie boxes to the Cherokee County Work Services and area nursing homes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: