[Masthead] Overcast ~ 40°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Banquet salutes Braves wrestlers

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Lettermen and team awards and accomplishments were acknowledged at the recent Cherokee Braves Wrestling Banquet conducted by coach Austin Todd and assistant Ted Reis.

Varsity lettermen for the 2011-2012 season included Andy Pitts, Hunter Morrow, Jack Letsche, Rick Weaver, Zac Anderson, Luke Zeimen, Blake Booth, Gabe Conley, Trevor Devitt, and Miah Back.

JV lettermen included Nathan Laursen, Alex Maurer, and Derek Bechtel, and a Participation Award went to Andras Luacas-Farcas.

Among team awards, Anderson was Most Dedicated, Zeimen Most Improved, Devitt Most Inspirational, and Weaver the Braves Leadership Award.

Another team award - The Braves' Dog Soldier Award - went to wrestlers who did not miss a single practice all season excused and non-excused. They were Weaver, Anderson, Conley, and Back.

Among season highlights mentioned by Coach Todd were winning the Paul Fuhrman Invitational team title, Anderson winning his 100th prep career match, and five District qualifiers and three State Meet qualifiers (Anderson, Morrow, Back).

Also, Weaver and Letsche set school career records exceeding 118 escapes each, with Weaver totaling 121, and Letsche 150. The team also broke the old Braves team mark of 128 falls in a season by recording 149 falls this season.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: