[Masthead] Fair ~ 71°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 60°F
Wednesday, July 27, 2016

MMC girls celebrate historic season

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

This trio of talented Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn basketball players earned All-War Eagle Conference honors this season, left to right, Kayla Foresman and Erica Dreckman first team, and Jalyn Doeden second team. Photo contributed
MARCUS - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn girls basketball team celebrated their acclaimed 2011-2012 season with a potluck banquet recently, with team awards announced.

The Eagles finished the season with a sparkling 20-4 record and the War Eagle Conference Championship with a perfect 10-0 loop record.

Team Award winners included Erica Dreckman named team MVP and Offensive Player of the Year, Kayla Foresman the Hustle Award, Jalyn Doeden Defensive Player of the Year, Bailee Nelson Most Improved Player, Anna Wilcox Coaches' Appreciation Award, Carly Lehnhoff Practice Player Award, Sarah Bird Sixth Player Award.

Special Team Award winners for the Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn girls basketball team this season included, left to right, Anna Wilcox, Kayla Foresman, Erica Dreckman, Jalyn Doeden, Bailee Nelson. Photo contributed
Besides those seven varsity stalwarts, also receiving varsity letters this season were Alissa McDermott, Alex Dreckman, and Maddison Johnson. Reagan McDaniel, a past letter winner and varsity starter, missed the season with a knee injury, and Foresman missed most of her junior season with a knee injury.

"The juniors had to play behind a great group of seniors and helped out a lot. They are excited for next year already," said MMC coach Tim Dreckman.

In addition, Erica Dreckman, a repeat All-Stater and All-District performer, was named first team All-District, All-Region, INA All-State first team, All Northwest Iowa, and IGHSAU All-State. Dreckman and Foresman were first team All-WEC, and Foresman also was first team All-District, and fifth team All-Northwest Iowa. Doeden was second team All-WEC.

Coach Dreckman also was named Class 1A District Coach of the Year.

Erica Dreckman also set school records in steals, assists, and season point total.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: