[Masthead] Fair ~ 67°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 53°F
Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Iowa High School seniors to be honored

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony April 29

WEST DES MOINES - 442 high school seniors across Iowa will be honored Sunday, April 29, 2012, at the Tenth Annual Governor's Scholar Recognition Ceremony, held at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines starting at 1 p.m.

The Governor's Office, the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and its title sponsor, the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, are presenting this recognition program.

The Honorable Governor Terry Branstad will host the event and address the audience of 2,500-plus. Iowa Farm Bureau President Craig Hill, Gary Ross, Activities Director at Johnston High School, and chairperson of the Board of Control of the Iowa High School Athletic Association, and Charity Campbell, 2012 Iowa Teacher of the Year from Norwalk, will welcome the students and their guests.

The seniors being honored were selected by their high schools as the highest academic achievers. Each student will receive a photo plaque of themselves with Governor Branstad and a certificate to commemorate their achievement. Each student's most influential teacher will also receive a certificate of appreciation. A reception for the students, their parents, their most influential teachers, and other guests will follow the ceremony.

In addition to being recognized as the state's brightest students, over 99 percent of the group participates in school activities, with approximately 80 percent participating in at least one interscholastic sport. To date, more than 60 percent plan to pursue their post-secondary education in Iowa.

The following students from Chronicle Times area schools have been selected to receive this prestigious honor : Alta-Aurelia, Alyssa Turnquist; Cherokee Washington, Brooke Luetkeman; Marcus-Meriden-Clegghorn, Anna Wilcox; Ridge View, Taylor Radke; River Valley, Kimberly Niehaus; South O'Brien, Shaan Desai.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: