[Masthead] Fair ~ 38°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

South O'Brien Spring Sports Preview

Monday, April 23, 2012

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien boys track and field team are, front row, left to right, Wyatt Hicks, Jordan Wohlert, Dylan Riedeman, Gunnar Klinker, Wyatt Sickelka, Victor Irwin, Patrick Nelson, Eric Koehlmoos, Eric Jones, Payton Johnson, and Chase Fuhrman. Middle, Austin Rohrs, Zach Nieman, Andrew Weaver, John Gray, Cole Ebel,Bret Puhrmann, Marcus Atkinson, Dylan Belless, Patrick Wubben, Tanner Hedberg, Jon Zubrod, Tanner Silberstien, Kelly Puhrmann, and Hunter Fiddelke. Back, Will Friedrichsen, Daniel Patterson, Garrett Hohbach, Matt DeVos, Adam Paulsen, Sam Weber, Colton Huckaby, Ethan Schwebach, Luke Hoger, Kelvan Lansink, Ethan Faust, Eric Magnussen, and Zac Lund. Absent, Tanner Stienbeck.
Boys Track

Seven returning lettermen and several promising newcomers will comprise the nucleus of the 2012 South O'Brien boys track and field team.

Coach Brant Goodchild greeted five seniors and two juniors among the reurning lettermen who will give the Wolverines a nice dose of leadership and experience as the season progresses.

Among those returning senior stalwarts are sprinter Cole Ebel, sprinter John Gray, middle distance runner Adam Paulsen, and throwers Garrett Hohbach and Eric Magnussen. Junior lettermen back include hurdlers/sprinters Hunter Fiddelke and Matt DeVos.

Promising newcomers who will factor in to the varsity equation are nine juniors, including middle distance runners Andrew Weaver and Ethan Schwebach; distance runners Luke Hoger, Sam Weber and Daniel Patterson; throwers Zac Lund, Colton Huckaby, Will Friedrichsen, and Tanner Silberstien.

Goodchild lists sufficient numbers out for the sport that will alow some rest periods between events as a major team strength, and cites a shortage of field event performers as a team shortcoming.

Goodchild will be assisted by savvy veteran coach Dana Vige.

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien girls track team are, back row, left to right, Coach Dana Vige, Ashley Vander Pol, Jenna Heemstra, Terran Ebel, Rebekah Jenness, Rachel Struve, Olivia Sickelka, Mikayla Hintz, Sierra Matthews, Taylor Paulsen, and Coach Julie Paulsen. Middle, Karlene Negus, Emily Heeren, Kristin Tentinger, Kendra Rohlfsen, Molly Weber, Libby Wagner, Aislinn Hofmeyer, Halee Rahbusch, and Karissa Langland. Front, Brett Struve, Breanna Van Beek, Casie Rehder, Patricia Zubrod, Erin Brasser, Alyssa Bainbridge, and Kaitlyn Aberson.
Girls Track

Sixteen returning letter winners should make for some interesting, fun times for this year's South O'Brien girls track and field team, again under the direction of Julie Paulsen and assistant Dana Vige.

AMong thos letter winners back to show the way are seniors Casie Rehder, Erin Brasser, and Breana VanBeek; juniors Kaitlyn Aberson, and Terran Ebel; and a promising batch of sophomores in Alyssa Bainbridge, Emily Heeren, Karissa Langland, Sierra Matthews, Tayler Paulsen, Halee Rahbusch, Kendra Rohlfsen, Kristin Tentinger, Libby Wagner, and Molly Weber.

Aberson (800 meters) and Matthews (shot put) were State qualifiers in their specialties last year.

Coach Paulsen, who will be assisted by veteran coach Dana Vige, lists strong distance runners, good team numbers, and great senior leadership as main team strengths as the season unfolds.

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien boys golf team are, back row, left to right, Brennan Sampson, Jared Roos, Mitchell Fulk, Dalton Richter, Brice Goosen, Kody Nelson, Mitchell Edwards, and Coach Noah DeYager. Middle, Austin Sweeney, Shaan Desai, Landon Louscher, Bobby McCauley, Tanner Matthews, Marcus Faust, and Denney Weber. Front, Cordell Tesch, Dillon Hain, Nate Struve, Zane Roberts, Kody Petrich, and Austin Wise.
Boys Golf

With three first team All-War Eagle Conference selections returning, and four seniors accounting for the four lettermen back, the 2012 South O'Brien boys golf season could be very entertaining for the Wolverine faithful.

Back to lead coach Noah DeYager's squad are Shaan Desai, Zane Roberst, Austin Sweeney, and Austin Wise, with Desai, Roberts, and Sweeney earning first team All-WEC honors last season, and Desai earning a State Tournament berth.

Among promising newcomers who will fill out the varsity lineup are junior Kody Nelson, and sophomore Kody Petrick.

Coach DeYager lists team strengths as his four returning lettermen with high goals set for themselves, and the fact most of the players are members of the Primghar Golf & Country Club and play a "tremendous" amount of rounds in the summer and off season.

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien girls golf team are, back row, left to right, Tayla Coady, Megan Burmakow, Emma Sweeney, Naomi Petrich, and Perri Niewenhuis. Middle, Erin Cullison, Mikayla Campbell, and Emily Cullison. Front, Jaynee Smith, and Shelbi Holtkamp.
The main team shortcoming is convincing the golfers to maintain their focus through all rounds of competition.

Girls Golf

With nine girls out for the sport, South O'Brien girls golf coach Lynn Cole will rely heavily on three returning letter winners with ample varsity experience to lead his team this season.

Back to bolster the Wolverines are senior Jaynee Smith, junior Mikayla Campbell, and sophomore Emma Sweeney.

Among a handful of promising newcomers is freshman Tayla Coady.

Coach Cole lists team cohesiveness and experience on varsity of the three returning letter winners as keys to his team's success this year.

The low number of just nine players is a team shortcoming, according to Cole.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: