[Masthead] Fair ~ 65°F  
High: 76°F ~ Low: 54°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Sioux Valley Golf Flight winners

Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Flights two through seven compete in 9-hole match-play matches at the annual Sioux Valley Amateur Men's Match-Play Tournament, with all qualifiers missing the tourney cut automatically qualifying for Saturday's Consolation Tournament, also consisting of 9-hole match-play matches.

In action last weekend at the 78th annual Sioux Valley Amateur Classic, Iowa's oldest and most unique and popular match-play tournament, golfers from throughout the country participated once again, with Cherokee's Matt Pitts winning the Championship Flight and two-time Champion Todd Sapp claiming First Flight honors (see accompanying story). Both of those flights play 18-hole matches.

Mike Pape of Sioux City won the second Flight Sunday, beating former Cherokean Ken Slater Jr. of Holstein 1-up. Cherokee native Dana Braunschweig of Des Moines won the Consolation match 4-3 over Jim Siegel of Cherokee.

Jason Spooner of Cherokee defeated Don Boettcher of Rembrandt 2-up to win the Third Flight. Aaron Hember of Cherokee won the Consolation match 1-up over former Cherokean Rick Hirschman of Des Moines.

Mike Cedar of Cherokee won the Fourth Flight 2-up over Dennis Nelson of Cherokee. Cherokee native Pat Murphy of Des Moines beat Rich Cook of Cherokee 1-up in 10 holes to claim Consolation honors.

Former Galva ace Tom Spindler of Cresco beat Josh Cedar of Cherokee 3-2 to win the Fifth Flight. Sam Mullins of Iowa City beat Al Beck of Cherokee 2-1 in the Consolation match.

Tim Greenwood of Cherokee defeated Andrew Courtright of Des Moines 1-up to claim the Sixth Flight. Jim Haselhoff of Cherokee administered a defeat to Don Eikmeier of Cherokee 1-up in 10 holes to win the Consolation match.

Cherokee native Dennis Royer of Columbus, Ohio won the Seventh Flight with a 5-4 defeat of Keith Ludwig of Cherokee. Tom Weaver of Cherokee beat Chris Olson of Cherokee 1-up for Consolation match honors.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: