[Masthead] Fog ~ 36°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 41°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Twin Lakes All-Conference Baseball

Thursday, July 26, 2012

LAKE CITY - The Twin Lakes Conference recently released its coaches' selections for All-Conference baseball honors.

State tournament participant Alta-Aurelia was well-represented on the honor teams, with senior infielder Neil Marshall and senior outfielder Jalen Henningsen both unanimous first-team picks, and junior catcher Alex Stephan also a first team selection.

Senior Austin Delp was selected as a pitcher on the All-Conference second team, and infielder Jaden Holton, also a senior, was also named to the second team. Senior AJ Lange and freshman Ross Friedrich were third team selections.

The Warriors, 1-0 losers to #1 rated Davis County in the first round of the Class 2A State Tournament, finished in a tie for third in the final conference standings.

Final Team Standings

1. Storm Lake St. Mary's (10-0 conference, 19-9 overall); 2. Sioux Central (9-1, 20-9); 3. Alta-Aurelia (7-3, 23-11), East Sac County (7-3, 20-6); 5. Newell-Fonda (5-5, 10-18); 6. Manson/NW Webster (4-6, 7-21), So. Central Calhoun (4-6, 10-17); 8. SE Webster-Grand (3-7,12-19); 9. Laurens-Marathon (2-8, 2-20), Pocahontas Area (2-8, 5-21), Prairie Valley (2-8, 3-22)

First Team All Conference

Unanimous selections - pitchers Bobby Ivey, SL St.Mary's and Brad Ripke, Sioux Central; infielders Neil Marshall, Alta-Aurelia and Jacob Ricke, East Sac County; outfielders Nick Wittmaack, Sioux Central and Jalen Henningsen, Alta-Aurelia. Other picks - catcher Alex Stephan, Alta-Aurelia; infielders Joe Sandhoff, SL St. Mary's and Mickenzie Nelson, Sioux Central; outfielder Carter Niehaus, East Sac County; utility players Bobby Rushton, Sioux Central and Hunter Blum, East Sac County

Second Team

Pitchers Austin Delp, Alta-Aurelia and Nathan Christensen, So. Central Calhoun; catcher Colin Swanson, Sioux Central; infielders Andy Drey, SL St. Mary's, Jaden Holton, Alta-Aurelia, Tom Devereaux, Newell-Fonda, Dalton Runneburg, Laurens-Marathon and Trey Kehoe, Prairie Valley; outfielders Tyler Munden, SL St. Mary's, Matt Schiltz, Sioux Central, Seth Dicks, Newell-Fonda and Jordan Rozenboom, Manson/NW Webster; utility players Kennedy Drey, SL St. Mary;s and Austin Hanson, Laurens-Marathon.

Third Team

Pitchers Dillon Anderson, NF and Curtis Castenson, SE Webster-Grand; catcher Marcus Stoltenberg, East Sac; infielders Luke Lenhart, SL St. Mary's, Ross Friedrich, Alta-Aurelia, Corey Jacobs, So. Central Calhoun and DJ Stowers, SE Webster-Grand; outfielders AJ Lange, Alta-Aurelia, Matt Cleveland, Laurens-Marathon and Wyatt Rahn, Pocahontas Area; utility players Mitch Rosendahl, Manson/NW Webster and Nick Anderson, Prairie Valley.

Honorable Mention

Austin Demers and Jacob Kottke, SL St. Mary's; Ben Hecht, Jake Hahn and Brady Dicks, NF; Clayton Taylor, Prairie Valley.

Coach of the Year - Ryan Berg, Storm Lake St. Mary's

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: