[Masthead] Overcast ~ 44°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Fall Sports Preview - Ridge View

Friday, September 14, 2012

Members of the 2012 Ridge View football team include, front row, left to right, Daniel Ramirez-Villa, Kirby Goettsch, Haydan Johnson, Nate Myrice, Dru Kenny, Dillon Kunneke, Michael Davidson, Austin Struchen. Row two, Alex Miller, Derek Kai, Ryan Garthoff, Michael Tiefenthaler, Matt Wandrey, Nick Babcock, Henryt Sippel, Michael Currie, Josh Fowler. Row three, Donnie Kelley, Preston Schmidt, Josh Gross, Tyler Pickhinke, Jared Hinkeldey, Zach Tokheim, Logan Richard, John Kofmehl, Lucas Hanson, Mason Johnson. Row four, Ethan Bruning, Brody Stoltze, Aaron Cuthrell, Austin Thevenot, Anthoney Bainbridge, Zeus Nava, Brian Stamp, Harrison Gebers, Drew VanZweden, Daniel Jeckell. Row five, David Tiefenthaler, Alex Pickhinke, Tristin Stibbens, Peyton Boyle, Braden Else, Grant Anderson, Garret Lamp, Joe Kenny, Aaron Shindoll. Row six, Chance Briner, Reuben De La O, Peyton Regennitter, Tyler Ehrp, Jackson Graff, Kyle Schiernbeck, Ryan Currie, Devin Mentzer, Ryan Cougill, Marcus Prell, Joe Nuckolls. Back, Coaches: Doug Davidson, Jeff DeHaan, Brandon Turnquist, Chad Hustedt, Tyler Phelan.
All-District players will key Ridge View football

HOLSTEIN - The Ridge View football team overcame a 0-5 start last season to rebound with four straight wins and salvage the season under coach Jeff De Haan.

Running back/linebacker Dru Kenny is one of three returning All-District players and he rushed for 800 yards last season.

The other All-District picks include two-way lineman Michael Davidson, and defensive back Ryan Garthoff, who will see considerable action at quarterback for the Raptors this year.

Linebacker Nate Myrice and lineman Mason Johnson are also two leaders on the offensive side of the ball for a team with five returning starters on offense, and six on defense. Wide receiver/defensive back Joe Toekheim, and wide receiver/linebacker Matt Wandrey are also returning starters who will impact the starting lineup again this season.

Among additional senior lettermen back to bolster the team are Austin Struchen, Hayden Johnson, and Dillon Kunneke, while junior lettermen returning include Lucas Hansen, Drew Van Zweden, Henry Sippel, and Michael Tiefenthaler.

Sophomore Jesus Nava, a two-way lineman, lettered as a freshman and will see considerable action in 2012.

Decorated seniors to lead Ridge View volleyball

SCHALLER - There are 38 athletes out for the Ridge View Volleyball program and the Raptors didn't lose any athletes to graduation last year and have a wealth of experience coming back from a team that went 24-17 last year

Ridge View returning starters include senior Gretchen Kistenmacher, 1st Team All Conference; senior Kaitlynn Madsen, 1st Team All Conference and All District; senior Nicole Snyder, 2nd Team All Conference; senior Dana Hustedt, 2nd Team All Conference; senior Jayde Vondrak; and juniors Anna Davis and Ashlynn Blenner.

A bunch of juniors and sophomores will be pushing for playing time. The team has been working on speeding up the offense and make things quicker.

Members of the 2012 Ridge View volleyball team include, front row, left to right, Ashlynn Blenner, Nicole Snyder, Jayde Vondrak, Dana Hustedt, Gretchen Kistenmacher, Kaitlynn Madsen, Anna Davis. Row two, Kyra Hoffman, Heather Hansen, Sydney Kistenmacher, Emily Forristal, Emily Brosamle, Lexi Johnson, Jadyn Mohr, Lauren Yearous. Row three, Rebecca Regennitter, Karlen Lamp, McKinley Schubert, Angela Livezey, Cheyenne Spahr, Brooke Lindgren, Lexi Schmidt, Kaitlynn VanZweden, Savanna Snyder, Tabitha Mallison, Bailey Winterhof. Back, Emily Egger, Megan Wiese, Afton Wulf, Josie Beckman, Halee Booth, Jenna Wiese, Kaylee Blenner, Tylar Conover, Natasha Madsen, Taylor Muckey, Tonia Anway, Samantha Carter.
"If we don't pass to our setter, our fast paced offense will struggle," noted veteran Ridge View coach Scott Mitchell. "We hope to do an adequate job blocking, with our lack of height we want to slow down the opponents' attacks."

Maple Valley should be the leader in the North and IKM/Manning should be the frontrunner in the South, according to Mitchell, whos assisted this season by coaches Monica Bloyer, Dina Mitchell, and Jessica Christiansen.

Ridge View cross country teams strong again

HOLSTEIN - The Ridge View Raptors are putting in a lot of work and see some great potential for the season.

The Ridge View cross country team will be coached by Katie Tesch and Randy Galvin. Last season, the girls' team placed 8th in the Western Valley Conference, and 12th in the 1A district meet. The boys' team placed 5th in Western Valley Conference, and 9th in the district meet.

Members of the 2012 Ridge View cross country teams include, front row, left to right, Susie Collier, Sami Naberhaus, Melissa Brandt, Rachel Hunt, Kate Mathes, Rachel Boyle, Courtney Carstens. Back, Gabriel Carbajal, Charlie Kliegl, Jason Kenny, Christian Egger, Noah Frahm, Jonah Kistenmacher, Sergio Carbajal, Alex Burhop, Zach Kenny.
The girls' team is returning: Rachel Hunt, Kate Mathes, Melissa Brandt, Susie Collier, and Courtney Carstens from last year's varsity squad. Four of these girls are seniors and bring a lot of experience to the program. The team also will be adding senior Sami Naberhaus and junior Rachel Boyle.

The varsity boys' squad will be returning Christian Egger, Jason Kenny, Sergio Carbajal, Charlie Kliegl, Gabe Carbajal, and Noah Frahm.

The boys' squad is led by some hard workers, senior Christian Egger placed 15th in the WVC last year and junior Jason Kenny placed 4th. Jason also went on to compete in the state meet placing 61st.

This year, the teams' biggest weakness is low numbers, so will work hard to avoid injury and stay healthy on both squads. The Raptors will also be competing at the 2A level this year which will bring some tough competition.

Raptor coaches look for OA-BCIG, MVAO, and KP-WC to have strong boys' teams; and IKM-Manning, OA-BCIG, and Woodbine to be competitive on the girls' side.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: