[Masthead] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Fall Sports Preview - South O'Brien

Friday, September 14, 2012

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien football team are, in no particular order, Austin Unrau, Sam Weber, Kody Petrich, Bryce Edwards, Kody Nelson, Dallas Jalas, Gunner Klinker, Eric Koehlmoos, Brett Puhrmann, Andrew Cullison, Keaton Rohrbaugh, Dillon Hain, Isaiah Faust, Karter Rohrbaugh, Austin Bare, Patrick Nelson, Victor Irwin, Pheonix Ochoa, Dalton Lange, Ty Hoey, Zach Nieman, Marcus Atkinson, Damon Struve, Austin Rohrs, Payton Johnson, Aaron Waples, Trent McClaren, Michael Callahan, Colton Huckaby, Kelly Puhrman, Tanner Silberstein, Chase Fuhrman, Garrett Wagner, Jackson Enger, Toshi Bobbi, Ethan Faust, Bryce Kelleher, Brennan, Will Friedrichsen, Sam Johnson, Patrick Wubben, Ethan Schwebach, Eric Jones, Mitchell Fulk, Jon Aubrod, Marcus Faust, Duncan Schwebach, Travis Hohbach, Cole Wohlert, Matt DeVos, Cody Johannson, Andrew Weaver, Kelvan Lansink, Jared Roos, Jordan Wohlert, Brant Steffens, Dylan Riedemann, and Brice Goosen.
South O'Brien football team on upward swing

PAULLINA - A potent running game helped get coach Mark Fuhrman's South O'Brien Wolverines back into Iowa's post season football playoffs for the first time in 19 seasons last year.

With standout running back Zach Nieman coming off a spectacular sophomore year, the Wolverines are hoping to seize upon the returning lettermen's strengths and make a noise in the Class 1A ranks.

Nieman churned out 1,789 yards last year, along with 18 touchdowns and 304 carries for the 6-5 Wolverines.

With nearly 70 players reporting for this year's squad, depth is not a problem for SOS, with 16 seniors and 16 juniors providing the nucleus for what could be another highly succesful season.

Kody Nelson is pegged as starting quarterback this season and a handful of superb two-way linemen should fill the bill for the Wolverines to move the ball on offense and limit the opponents' production on defense.

Among those linemen are Jon Zubrod, Bryce Kelleher, and Will Friedrichsen. Also providing offensive spark will be wide receiver Sam Weber and tight end Matt De Vos.

Other returning lettermen include Austin Unrauh, Brett Puhrmann, Austin Rohrs, Tanner Silberstein, and Zach Lund.

Wolverines return four volleyball starters

PAULLINA - South O'Brien returns four starters from last years' volleyball team, which posted a 5-5 mark in the War Eagle Conference and were 13-12 overall.

Head coach Kelsey Bachman, who is assisted by Ashton Lansink and Kim Hintz, feels the Wolverines' front row players are especially strong this year, and she feels that if team members can stay healthy and learn a new defense she has introduced, the team will fare well. Mikayla Hintz, a Second Team All-Conference pick last year, returns for SOS this fall, and other returning regulars include Rachel Struve, Taylor Paulsen and Megan Burkakow.

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien Varsity Volleyball team are, front row, left to right, Emily Riedemann, Taryn Ebel, Perri Niewenhuis, Megan Burmakow. Middle, Emma Sweeney, Naomi Petrich, Kendra Rohlfsen, Kristen Tentinger, Brett Struve. Back, Jenna Heemstra, Taylor Paulsen, Rachel Struve, Mikayla Hintz.
Junior Kendra Rohlfsen is a promising back row player for the Wolverines, according to coach Bachman, while other promising players include Emily Riedemann, Taryn Ebel, Perri Niewenhuis, Emma Sweeney, Naomi Petrich, Kristen Tentinger, Brett Struve, and Jenna Heemstra.

South O'Brien Wolverines return capable XC runners

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien Boys Cross Country team are, front row, left to right, Bobby McCauley, Daniel Patterson. Middle, Kyle Paulsen, Ben Aberson, Wyatt Sickelka, Tanner Hedberg, Brody Schieffen, Daniel Wester. Back, Wyatt Hicks, Daniel Haden, Luke Hoger, Jon Roos, Ben Hayden, Hunter Fiddelke.
PAULLINA - South O'Brien veteran Cross Country coach Byron Foster has some experience returning his fall for both the boys and girls teams.

For the boys, Daniel Patterson and Luke Hoger were both All War Eagle Conference selections last year, and the duo returns this year, along with three other lettermen - Daniel Haden, Wyatt Hicks and Tanner Hedberg.

Two freshmen, Brian Haden and Ben Aberson, join the squad this year, along with runners who can impact the varsity and JV squads, including Bobby McCauley, Kyle Paulsen, Wyatt Sickelka, Brody Schieffen, Daniel Wester, Jon Roos, and Hunter Fiddelke.

Members of the 2012 South O'Brien Girls Cross Country team are, front row, left to right, Kellie Einck, Miranda Liebsack, Katlyn Aberson. Back, Olivia Sickelka, Arielle Wohlert, Halee Rahbusch, Rebecca Thiel.
Members of the 2012 South O'Brien Girls Cross Country team include Kellie Einck, Miranda Liebsack, Katlyn Aberson, Olivia Sickelka, Arielle Wohlert, Halee Rahbusch, and Rebecca Thiel.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: