[Masthead] Fog/Mist ~ 35°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

MMC rolls in first round football playoff game

Friday, October 26, 2012

Hoefling racks up six TDs for 10-0 Eagles

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn ball carrier Jacob Meehan (22) follows the blocking of teammates Ben Phillips, right, and Tyler Prunty (26) during recent football action in Marcus. The Eagles beat West Bend Mallard Wednesday in first-round 8-player playoff action and host Laurens-Marathon Monday night in Marcus. Photo contributed
MARCUS - Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn rolled to its 10th consecutive victory in its first season of 8-man football when they scored a 49-6 win over West Bend-Mallard in first-round Playoff action here on Wednesday.

MMC used the three-pronged running attack of seniors Andrew Hoefling, Tanner Utesch and Jake Meehan to run up 295 yards on the ground against the Wolverines, members of the Cornbelt Conference.

Utesch gained 133 yards on 12 carries, including a 69-yard touchdown; Hoefling lugged the ball 20 times for 120 yards and three TDs, with the longest being one covering 51 yards; and Meehan carried 12 times for 42 yards.

Southpaw quarterback Utesch added three more scores through the air, as he completed four passes overall in nine attempts, good for 83 yards and the three TDS. Hoefling snared all three of Utesch's touchdown throws, and the senior also tallied three scores on the ground.

Utesch also scored one TD on the ground, Dylan Spieler kicked three extra points, and Jared Gross rushed for one two-point conversion.

On defense, the Eagles were led by sophomore Conner Holmes, who was in on 13 tackles, and senior Dylan Rolfes, who was in on a dozen, including four sacks and five other tackles for a loss of yards. Nate Rassel and Justin Theisen also played a big part in the Eagles' defensive effort with seven tackles each. Hoefling also had two interceptions for the Eagles for a superb all-around performance, and Spieler picked off one pass.

MMC (10-0) will host Laurens-Marathon (8-2) in Marcus on Monday in second-round action. Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: