[Masthead] Overcast ~ 45°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Mickey Conley inducted into Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

Friday, November 30, 2012

Mickey Conley was honored at this year's Iowa State Fair when she was inducted into the 2012 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame. Pictured, left to right, Scott Mortimer, then President of Iowa 4-H Foundation, Kris Fish Kuhlman -- Executive Director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation, Mickey Conley, and Chuck Morris, Iowa 4-H Program Director. Photo contributed
Mickey Conley of Cherokee County was inducted into the 2012 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame during a ceremony at the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair in August.

Mickey Conley took the 4-H Pledge for the first time as a young girl sometime in the 1940's and has never forgotten it. Mickey understands the value of learning through 4-H by continuing to help young people learn life skills and career options.

She is service minded and devotes numerous hours of volunteer time to the 4-H program, local Depot Renovation Committee, DAR (Daughter of the American Revolution) and her church.

She has served Cherokee Co. 4-H by being a club member, club officer and the 4-H Girls County President in 1956-57. She has served on the 4-H & Youth Committee and she was instrumental in starting the Cherokee County 4-H Foundation and has helped raise and continues to help raise money to improve the 4-H facilities at the County Fairgrounds.

Mickey's loyalty to the 4-H program was passed on to her children and now is being instilled in her grandchildren. She is always encouraging all young people, whether her own family or just some youngster she meets for the first time, that you can learn by doing and "Make the Best Better."

Counties select inductees for their exceptional work in contributing to the lives of 4-H members and the overall 4-H program, said Brenda Medick, Cherokee County 4-H & Youth Coordinator.

Many inductees served as club leaders, youth mentors, fair superintendents or fair board members, Iowa State University Extension county council members, county youth council members, fair judges, financial supporters, chaperones, or ISU Extension staff members. The inductees have demonstrated dedication, encouragement, commitment and guidance to Iowa's 4-H'ers through the years.

"This is a wonderful opportunity for the counties and state to recognize and celebrate 4-H volunteers and staff who have shown outstanding service and dedication to Iowa's program," said Chuck Morris, director of ISU Extension 4-H Youth Development.

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was initiated in 2002 to help commemorate the 100th anniversary of 4-H.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: