[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 45°F
Thursday, Apr. 28, 2016

4-H Spotlight shines on Awards Banquet

Monday, December 3, 2012

November 15th has come and gone and I have survived yet another BIG milestone on the 4-H calendar, The Awards Banquet.

Kyle Morgan of the Stockmen accepting his trophy for Outstanding Educational Presentation from Jerry Ebert, President of the Youth Committee
This year the Awards Banquet was held at the Aurelia Community Center. We started the evening with a potluck dinner. YUMMY!!! Cherokee County 4-H has the best cooks in the county!

Several things happen during the Awards Banquet. The first is that a new County Council is installed. The County Council is made up youth in grades 9-12, who are willing to donate at least 1 hour per month to attend a meeting and plan activities for all county 4-H'ers. This year the County Council is made up of returning members Colby Behrens, Katie Cedar, Zane Young, and Haley Mummert We would also like to welcome some new members to the County Council. They are Marshall Stief, Austin Whited, Bailey Gaydo, and Madyson Kelley. I must say I am most excited to work with this group of young people. They all have some wonderful ideas and so much enthusiasm, I think you will be seeing and hearing a lot more of Cherokee County 4-H.

Some of the most important awards awarded at the Ceremony on Sunday were the "Special Awards." In order for a 4-H'er to be considered for one of these "Special Awards", they must have first completed a record book or filled out an award application. They must also be at least a sophomore in high school, had 3 or more years of 4-H club work, demonstrated leadership beyond the local club level, and met the guidelines of the specific award.

Katie Cedar of the Cavaliers accepting her award for Outstanding Record Keeping System.
Here is a list of the "Special Awards" and their winners. . .

Citizenship -- Amber Neisius of the Tilden Tillers

Ak-Sar-Ben -- Katie Cedar of the Cavaliers

I DARE YOU Leadership Award-- Amber Neisius and Sarah Henderson of the

Tilden Tillers

To Jan Pingel's surprise, she was awarded the 4-H Alumni award.
Agriculture Award -- Austin Whited of the Tilden Tillers

Outstanding Junior Record Books -- Kaitlyn Goth of the Tilden Tillers, Kassidy Pingel of Mill Creek Valley, Kyle Morgan of the Stockmen, and Sydney Woltman of the Cavaliers

Best Intermediate Record Book -- Devin Lux of the Tilden Tillers

Best Record Keeping Trophy -- Katie Cedar of the Cavaliers

We also awarded some very special adult recognition awards Sunday afternoon. They include:

Partner in 4-H: Cherokee County Pork Producers

Tracy and Denise Kraft and "the little people" accepting their Honorary 4-H'ers Award from Val Cedar and John Langschwager.
4-H Alumni: Jim Corrington and Jan Pingel

Honorary 4-H'ers: Tracy and Denise Kraft

4-H Leader of the Year: Becky Whited of the Tilden Tillers

Becky Whited receiving her Leader of the Year award from Stephanie Spieler. Both are leaders of the Tilden Tillers.
As you can see it was a busy evening. Those receiving the awards listed above are well deserving winners. Congratulations!

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: