[Masthead] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 88°F ~ Low: 54°F
Sunday, June 26, 2016

Ridge View wrestling tourney results

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

HOLSTEIN - Three teams from the Chronicle Times coverage area competed at Saturday's Ridge VIew wrestling tournament here.

The team title went to Southern Calhoun, with 185 points, while Sheldon/South O'Brien took second with 158 points, host Ridge View finished third, scoring 129 team points, Sioux City West scored 86.5 points to take 4th, Coon Rapids-Bayard was 5th, with 78.5 points, and Alta-Aurelia finished 6th, scoring 58 points.

Individually for Ridge View, Zach Kenny (106) placed 5th. He was pinned by Colten Larsen of Alta-Aurellia in 2:56; pinned by Micah Hoffman of CRB in 0:53, pinned by Adam Stark of Sioux City West in 0:53; pinned by Jordan Payne of SCC in 0:59, and received a bye in Round Five.

At 113, Dylan Richards placed third. Dylan was pinned by Patrick McAllister of CRB in 3:12; received byes in two rounds; and was pinned by Collin Corey of SCC in 2:55;.

At 120, Luke Kliegl placed second, pinning Landon Makinson of SCC in 1:08; pinning Kaleb Sorenson of Sioux City West in 1:34; winning by technical fall, 19-2, over Chaz DeRocher of Sheldon/South O'Brien; receiving one bye; and losing a 10-3 decision to Christian Hilgenberg of Coon Rapids-Bayard.

At 126, Peyton Boyle placed 3rd - being pinned by Josh Gorter of Sheldon/South O'Brien in 2:58 and Chase Goodman of SCC in 2:51; and receiving byes in thee rounds.

At 132, Ryan Cougill placed 6th. He was pinned by Dustin Freeman of Sheldon/South O'Brien in 4:39; lost by injury default to Logan Peed of SCC in 1:43; and lost by forfeit to Alta-Aurelia's Cody Cameron, Sioux City West's Marco Rojas and Coon Rapids- Bayard's Liam McAllister.

The Raptors'Jason Kenny took the 138 pound championship, winning a 7-0 decision over Trey Eddy of SCC; pinning Ben Stange of Alta-Aurelia in 1:59;

pinning Matt Bensen of Sioux City West in 0:54; receiving one bye; and pinning Zach Evans of CRB in 5:43.

At 145, Tristin Stibbens placed 5th; he lost by technical fall, 21-4, to Sioux City West's Taron Flemister; was pinned by Sheldon/South O'Brien'sGunnar Klinker in 1:40; pinned by Logan Namanny of CRB ; pinned by Ty Riley of SCC in 5:37; and pinned Jacob Husman of Alta-Aurelia in 2:48. Joe Kenny placed 5th at 152. He pinned Elijah Snyder of CRB in 0:27; was pinned by Dylan Ohlson of Alta-Aurelia in 1:38; was pinned by Brian Klein of

SCC in 0:43; and was pinned by Daniel Luesebrink of Sioux City West in 1:37.

At 160, Dru Kenny placed 3rd. He received a bye in round one; pinned Spencer Winnett of CRB in 1:59; lost a 12-7 decision to Toby Maggert of Sheldon/South O'Brien; was pinned by Tyler Kurtz of SCC in 3:41; and won by forfeit over Alta-Aurelia's Jeremiah Ruby.

Matt Wandrey took third place at 170; he was pinned by Darin Greenfield of Sheldon/South O`Brien in 1:59; received byes in rounds 2 and 3; was pinned by Zayne Barrett of SCC in 1:39; and won a 9-6 decision over Manny Murillo of Alta-Aurelia.

At 182, Kyle Schiernbeck placed 4th. He was pinned by SCC's Jeff King in 1:45; pinned by Sheldon/South O'Brien's Austin Rohrs in 1:15; received byes in two rounds; and pinned Kris Donner of Sioux City West in 0:55.

At 195, Henry Sippel placed 3rd. Sippel lost an 11-0 Major Decision to Brytton Kelleher of Sheldon/South O'Brien; received a bye in two rounds; lost a 12-7 decision to Rylan Richardson of South Central Calhoun; and pinned Christian Jarvis of Alta-Aurelia in 0:54.

Michael Davidson took 2nd place at 220, receiving one bye; pinning Austin Svendsen of Sioux City West in 0:26; pinning Nolan Machovec of SCC in 0:48; losing to Sheldon/South O'Brien's Bryce Kelleher, 5-4; and pinning Alta-Aurelia's Garrett VanHouten in 3:43.

Nathan Myrice took the Raptors' second championship, at 285. He pinned Anthony Combs of Sioux City West in 5:04; pinned Jesse Meendering of Sheldon/South O'Brien in 0:29; received a bye in one round; and pinned Alta-Aurelia's Joe Rodriguez in 1:23 and SCC's Zeb McCubbin in 1:13.

For A-A, Colten Larson placed 4th at 106, pinning one opponent, being pinned by three others, and receiving a bye in one round. Teammate Cody Cameron also placed 4th, at 132, losing one decision, pinning one opponent, winning one by forfeit, and being pinned in his final two matches. 138-pounder Ben Stange placed 5th. He received one bye and was pinned in four matches. 145-pounder Jacob Husman was pinned in each of his five matches and placed 6th in his weight division. Dylan Ohlson, at 152, placed 3rd, pinning his first three opponents and being pinned himself in his last two matches. Jeremiah Ruby placed 6th at 160 pounds, being pinned twice, receiving a bye in one round and forfeiting his last two matches. 170-ponder Manuel Murillo placed 4th. He received two byes, was pinned in two matches and lost one decision. At 195, Christian placed 4th. Jarvis received two byes and was pinned in three of his matches. Garrett VanHouten (14-4) placed third i a tough 220 lb. bracket. He pinned two of his opponents, was pinned twice himself and received one bye. The Warriors' Joe Rodriguez place 5th at 285. receiving one bye and being pinned in each of his other matches.

For Sheldon/South O'Brien Josh Gorter (11-3) took second plac in the 126 lb. class; Dustin Freeman placed 3rd at 132; Gunnar Klinker won the 145 pound championship with three pins and two Major Decisions; Brian Klein placed 2nd at 152; Toby Maggert also placed 2nd at 160; Darin Greenfield won the 170 pound title, with three pins and two byes; Austin Rohrs won the 182 pound championship, drawing two byes and pinning three opponents; Bryan Kelleher won the 220 lb. championship, as he pinned three opponents and won another match in a tie breaker; and Jesse Meendering placed 4th in the 285 lb. class, drawing one bye,, pinning one opponent, and being pinned three times.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: