[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 44°F  
High: 48°F ~ Low: 43°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Iowa prep basketball honors

Monday, December 24, 2012

Dean Schnoes
BOONE - Murray senior Austin Halls is destined to be the 31st Iowa school boy to score 2,000 or more career points Friday when Coach Darin Wookey's 8-0 Mustangs entertain Diagonal (4-4).

Halls will bring 1,980 points into his home gym. He has scored 220 points this winter for a 27.5 pga. He tallied 37 points in a 72-53 December 11 win over the Maroons in Diagonal.

Gary Thompson of Roland was the first to crack the 2K barrier with 2,043 points from 1950-53. Ankeny Christian's Tim Olejniczak was the last, netting 2,015 points from 2008-2011. Eleven former preps have made the list since 2000.

The all-time leader is Brooks McKowen of Wapsie Valley, who poured in 2,831 points from 2000-03.

Halls is one of several great prep hardwood stories that are unfolding. Ricky Williams, 6-7 senior at Riverside, Oakland (8-0), is nearing an historic career double-double of 1,500 points and 1,000 rebounds. He takes 1,520 points and 918 rebounds into the Bulldogs' Thursday encounter at 6-2 Adair-Casey. In the 101 year history of the sport only 16 players to date have achieved that feat.

Fifteen other preps in addition to Halls and Williams have already cracked the career 1,000 point mark with no fewer than 14 others who could reasonable reach the milestone yet this season.

Three coaches who have reached Iowa Basketball Coaches Association win clubs already this season are:

300 wins - Keith Wagner, IKM-Manning; 400 - Bobby Sandquist, Johnston and Ken Laffoon, Danville. Eight other coaches could reach 300, 400, 500 or 600 career wins this season, including Wapsie Valley's Marty McKowen who takes a 499-180 mark into Friday home night's contest with Oelwein.

The entire IHSAA basketball archives on players, coaches and teams can be viewed on the IHSAA website at the following link http://www.iahsaa.org/basketball/Archive...

Following are the 2013 members if the IHSAA Basketball Hall of Fame to be introduced at the State Tournament, Saturday, March 9 at the halftime of the Class 4A Championship.

Players: Msgr. Wayne Ressler, Cascade St. Martin's (1957); Lonnie Porter, Waterloo East (1961); Dean Schnoes, Cherokee (1976); Ed Vaske, Colo-NESCO (1986); and Casey Blake, Indianola (1992).

Coaches: Jim Squiers, Marquette Catholic, Bellevue and David Lee, BCLUW, Conrad & South Hardin.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: