[Masthead] Overcast ~ 53°F  
High: 54°F ~ Low: 42°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

MMC's Letsche, Meehan crowned champions

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn's Justin Theisen, right, controls his opponent in recent wrestling action. Theisen was runner-up at Saturday's BHRV Tournament. Photo contributed
HULL - The Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn wrestlers placed second in the team standings and crowned two champions and two runners-up at Saturday's Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley Nighthawk Wrestling Invitational here.

Winning titles for the Eagles were Levi Letsche at 285 pounds, and Jacob Meehan at 170, while second-place finishes went to Justin Theisen at 182, and Connor Holmes at 152.

Letsche pinned Mycah Cummings of Sioua Falls lLincoln in the finals, and Meehan pinned Seth Haper also of Lincoln in his championship bout.

Jacob Meehan, right, of Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn scores a takedown in recent wrestling action. Meehan won his weight class at the BHRV Invitational Saturday. Photo contributed
Theisen lost a 4-1 decision to Dallas Rozeboom of BHRV in the finals for his runner-up finish, and Holmes was pinned by Hunter Berkenpas of BHRV in his finals.

Three MMC grapplers earned third-place finishes, including Du;an Rolfes at 160, Jacob Letsche at 195, and Roberto Araizen at 220.

Also for the Eagles, Derek Erdman was fourth at 132, while Ben McDaniel at 113, and Isaac Jacobcon at 126 each finished sixth.

The host Nighthawks won the team title with 199 points, followed by MMC 139, Sioux Falls lincoln 126, Okoboji 112, Worthington 108, Akron-Westfield 107, MOC-Floyd Valley 95, HUll Western Christian 84, and West Sioux 58.

MMC competes in the annual Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove Invitational Friday and Saturday in Ida Grove.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: