Iowa Artists Regional Show

Wednesday, April 10, 2013
Blue ribbon winners, all of whom advance to the State show in Fort Dodge on May 4, include, front row, left to right: Tim Anderson of Cherokee, and Barbara McGee of Peterson. Back row, Ken Herskamp of Ida Grove, and Hope Wallen of LeMars. Photo contributed

The Iowa Artists held their area One and Four regional show on Saturday April 6 at the Witter Gallery in Storm Lake.

Connie Herring from Madison, S.D. was the judge. Before the judging the judge shared her work with those present and explained how she produced it. Herring commented on the quality of the work and the difficulty involved in choosing the winners.

There were 15 artists present who brought 43 pieces of art. Ribbon winners were Bettina Perkins of Anthon with her painting Textural Abstract. Denice Peters, from Denison with her pastel painting "A Summer Welcome."

Denice is also having a whole gallery show at the Witter Gallery for the month of April. Come and enjoy her work. Ron Erickson of Remsen received two ribbons for his wood turning pieces, "Walnut Vase" and "Interactive Bowl." Cathy Reed of Meriden won a ribbon for her paper collage, "Landscape." Barbara McGee of Peterson received two ribbons for her oil painting "Holy Cow" and "Reflections."

Rhonda Saunders of Peterson received a ribbon for both of her pencil drawings, "Aftermath" and "Exhaustion." Linda Fries of Peterson received a ribbon for her watercolor painting "Just Because." Tim Anderson received a ribbon on all three of his wood pieces, "Split," "Deco Wired," and "Forstner."

Ken Herskamp of Ida Grove won two ribbons with his watercolor paintings, "Spring Tulips" and "Lunch in Naples." Artist Hope Wallen of LeMars won a ribbon on all three of her paintings, "The Gift," "Two Pair," and "The New Colt."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: